November 11, 2023

This is one of my favorite images from the year. I decided to travel this year and spent a lot of time doing so from June until October.

The photo above is from a camping trip I took in June. It was planned as a trip for me and my daughter. However, something came up in her very busy life and thus it became a solo camping trip. Being alone meant I could get up long before sunrise and just hop in the car and drive to this beautiful lake and set up in the dark, waiting for this exact vision. When I got to the lake parking lot, I was a bit terrified to walk in the dark, so I asked a trust-worthy looking man from Wisconsin if I could follow him. It was great because he actually knew what he was doing, so I just shadowed him and got what I consider a great photo, and a great memory.

I also went to visit my granddaughter and GREAT GRANDSON! in South Dakota in July. I am so amazed that I am a great grandmother. I am thrilled! Beyond thrilled. They are a very happy little nuclear family on the great northern plains. It is a long long drive from here. On the way there, I stayed at a monastery in Nebraska, and on the way back, I visited Devil’s Tower in Wyoming. It was a long drive for a 71 year old lady to make by herself. But there is something very life-affirming in knowing that I can still do these things.

In August, the wonderful annual camping trip with my son and his family and my nephew and his family. This year we went to Yellowstone. It was really just so wonderful.

In September, I visited my one remaining sibling. My 85 year old brother and his wife who has been my sister-in-law since 1965 – in North Carolina. We traveled the Trail Ridge Road and visited, ate great food, and just had a great time. I flew, I did this drive in 2017, and it is a long haul and not one I am really up for.

I took a 3 day retreat to the Abbey in October to close out the summer. I am glad I did all these things, but it was a bit excessive, and I am ready to be home for a while.

My 39th AA anniversary was in July and my friend talked me into going to a meeting to celebrate. It was a small meeting and I knew most of the people there, and they were very generous with me. I’ve always thought it takes real nerve to show up on your birthday when you aren’t there the rest of the year, but like I said, they were very kind and generous with me.

I have thought recently about going back to meetings, I miss the fellowship, the camaraderie, and the laughter. I probably won’t make a decision any time soon.

Earlier I had felt that it was kind of in conflict with my spiritual path, but I have come to reconsider that. I’ve come to an even greater appreciation of what a miracle and a gift sobriety is. There are so many people in this world who just never can get it. I used to give myself credit for “being ready” and “doing the work, bla bla bla” but I see it as a total gift from day one, till 14,355 days (yeah, I just looked it up). The older I get, the more I can see clearly that God has been so present in my life and has been so very good to me.

I always say it, but I really mean it, I loved blogging and I really miss it. Maybe I can do this?

This entry was posted in Retirement, Sobriety, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to November 11, 2023

  1. Annette says:

    Mary! I LOVED reading this. You know you have had a profound impact on my life….teaching me about Adoration which I will be thankful for until my dying day, reading of your adventures, your marathons, your AA journey…it is the most beautiful thing to me when we come to a place of really recognizing that anything we can piece together, physical sobriety, emotional sobriety, is an unequivocal gift of pure grace. My life is so different today than when I first began blogging….you were one of my many teachers through the years. Thank you. And if you decide to blog again, I will very happily read!

  2. Mary says:

    Mary – I was so happy when I saw a post from you. That picture is beautiful and I enjoyed reading about your travels this year. I will always enjoy reading if you decide to start blogging again.

  3. Daisy Anon says:

    Sorry for the delay in commenting Mary. I actually lost your blog for while and have just found it again. I have appreciated your blogging so much over the years. I do hope you continue. I haven’t been to a meeting for some years. Sometimes I feel a bit guilty about that but know it is the right decision for me. I am so grateful to all those in the past who gave me the gift of sobriety and those who continue to pass it on now. All good wishes and blessings to you on your birthday.

Leave a comment