Rainy Days and Mondays

IMG_2632

Today is a rainy day and a Monday. And that’s all fine by me, though I had planned to take a walk this morning.  I will get on my treadmill instead.  Which I love.

Later on I will meet my former boss for lunch.  I am so grateful we can be friends.  I am so grateful to be friends with every single one of my former bosses.  I should specify:  those who are still alive and live in the area.

Last week was a rough one for me.  It came home to me over and over again that my plans for retirement are just not working out the way I thought they would.  I listed a few  of these disappointments (grievances) in my last post.  It sounds whiney.  But I am profoundly disappointed about some of this.

I must have alternate plans now.  I must find other ways.  I think some will require a bit of effort, but I believe some will just fall into place.

Yesterday at Mass, the pastor announced a new initiative at our church.  Creating culture.  I am interested in almost every activity coming up.  Imagine a Latin class!  For free!  Sign me up!!!  A book club – the first book is the Confessions of St. Augustine.  Yes!!  A Saturday hike with a Mass.  I am so very excited about these things.  I do love my church and I think that might be the only retirement plan that is actually working out.

After Mass yesterday, I took communion to the homebound.  This is such a wonderful ministry for me to be involved in. It absolutely terrified me to start doing this, but I find it so rewarding.   I had expected the people to say “Who are you to be bringing me communion? Who do you think you are?”  Instead I am greeted by people who are mostly trapped in their homes (and they are the lucky ones, the ones who either have family to care for them or can afford to hire caregivers), they are so happy to see me.  They are so grateful to be able to receive communion.   No one has ever doubted my “qualifications” to do this.  That is a real blessing to me.

The only thing that is a bit scary is saying the Lord’s Prayer (Our Father) with these folks.  I am so used to the AA version – the Lord’s Prayer said at our meetings.  The cadence is different and the ending is different.  I have slipped from time to time at Mass and instead of saying “Amen,” have said “for thine….”  I just have to be mindful.

I’m grateful.  Last week was sad, but I am moving on.  Learning to “play the ball where it lays” has been a blessing.  I cannot force things to be the way I wanted.  Instead I believe I may be looking at things falling into place that are infinitely better.

xxxooo

This entry was posted in Friends, Gratitude, Retirement, Surrender. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rainy Days and Mondays

  1. Annette says:

    I just found The Confessions of St. Augustine in our old used book store. Have you read anything about Hildegard of Bingen? After reading Gods Hotel (remember how much that booked touched me?!) I read a lot about Hildegard.very interesting stuff. I am so glad you are taking communion to the homebound. Why anyone would question you is beyond me. You are serving Christ’s children…what could ever be wrong with that?

  2. atomicmomma says:

    Give yourself time to adjust to this retirement,Mary….it is a big life change and I think you are doing all the right things to settle in. I think all the activities at your church are wonderful and it is truly a blessing that you are delivering communion to shut ins. The bottom line is – retirement is a huge transition and you are not going to figure it out in a day. You’re doing great so far.

    • I sure am not figuring it out quickly! Today was one of “those days” when I didn’t leave the house – because I am completely exhausted from last week. One extreme to another. I guess in time I will get better at it. Thank you for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

