Homemade Greek Yogurt

I’ve been asked to share my recipe, so here you go!  It takes a long time, but is not difficult to make and it is so good, it is totally worth the time it takes.

  • 1/2 gallon whole milk
  • 1 6 oz. container plain, unsweetened yogurt (with live cultures)
  • food or candy thermometer
  • slow cooker
  • 2 large towels

fullsizeoutput_8dc.jpeg
1. Pour milk into slow cooker.  Turn heat to high and heat to 180 degrees F.  It takes around 2 hours.

2. Turn off the slow cooker and allow milk to cool to 120 degrees F.  This also takes around 2 hours.  Measure unsweetened yogurt and allow to sit at room temperature while milk is cooling.

3.  When milk has reached 120 degrees, mix yogurt into milk and stir gently but thoroughly.

fullsizeoutput_8dd.jpeg

4.  Replace lid and wrap crockpot in towels.  Set it in an out-of-the-way place where the yogurt can ferment undisturbed for 6 to 8 hours or overnight.

5.  Unwrap crockpot and transfer the crock to the refrigerator to let cool completely.  Do not shake or stir.  It will set better if you leave it undisturbed.  I also think it gets more sour the longer it sets.

IMG_2692.JPG

6.  This is where it becomes Greek:  Transfer yogurt into a cheesecloth lined strainer, placed in a bowl.  (I use a piece of unbleached muslin.). Let strain, in the refrigerator,  for several hours.  It depends on how thick you want it.  I don’t like it to be very very thick.

IMG_2693

7.  Spoon the strained yogurt into containers for storing.  Be sure to keep 3/4 cup of the yogurt to use as the starter for your next batch.  This recipe makes about 5 cups of yogurt.  It is so good.  I think it gets better  every time I make it.  I particularly enjoy it with walnuts, a splash of vanilla, and a touch of stevia.  It is also good with fruit and all the other myriad ways we use yogurt!  Enjoy!

IMG_2696.JPG

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Homemade Greek Yogurt

  1. Thank you! Can’t wait to try it!

  2. atomicmomma says:

    Thanks for the recipe! That looks like the creamiest yogurt I have ever seen. And that is one cool looking crackpot.

    Blessings to you always Mary. I love your posts.

  3. I finally got the supplies and made this and you’re right, it is delicious! It was so simple, but I think I need a newer crock pot (1970s) as it took me triple time to reach 180 degrees. One question, must you use whole milk? Thanks again for sharing your recipe, I plan to make it regularly. Sandra

Leave a Reply

