Post from the Road

IMG_2447
The photo is from my ridiculously brief visit to the Great Smoky Mountain National Park.  That side-trip was always a planned feature of the trip.  I had no idea the only way into that park (National Park!) is through an unbelievably congested commercial zone – much like Las Vegas.  It took 4 hours to drive in and out of the park.  I think it is unconscionable to make a trip through Dollywood and Gatlinburg the mandatory route to a National Park.  I guess I am the only one who feels this way…

I stayed in cabins (without bathrooms) on my way to North Carolina.  It was an adventure, but I decided to stay in hotels on the way back. I am on a fluffy bed in one as I write.  I will be home tomorrow.  Thank you Jesus.  I tried to post a photo, but I am close to out of data on my phone and the hotel wifi is dreadful.

i don’t think I can write about my family until I get back to my computer at home.

I cannot wait to get home.  As always, a trip away has made me appreciate how wonderful my life is.  I’ll be home tomorrow.

Its been a good trip, but very hard to drive 3000 miles alone.  Also difficult to see the impact of age on my family

ill write from home.

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Post from the Road

  1. Nancy from Cali says:

    Safe travel home. I understand about the commercialization. Glad you got to see the park even briefly.

Leave a Reply

