Training Dementor

IMG_2287

That’s my dirty leg after stopping and talking to someone on my bike.  I guess I should try to steer clear of the chain…. who knew?

On Monday I had a date for a bike ride with a triathlon coach.  She turned out to be the “Training Dementor”.  She took all the joy and fun and confidence and left fear and dread in their place.  Oh dear God, how I wish I hadn’t done that.  I was feeling positive and confident, and then in less than 2 hours with her, I was wondering how much I could get for my bike if I sold it now…. if I could just go to the expo and pick up the shirt for the race and not do it…  Wondering what ever got into me as a 65 year old woman (with osteoporosis no less) to have the gall to even attempt a triathlon.

I’m not confident about my swim time.  I have spent too much time in open water – where I don’t know exactly what the distance is – and not enough time in the pool swimming exact lengths.  This is the opposite of what I usually do.

I thought I was fine on the bike, but now I am all nervous about drafting and not passing quick enough.  Two problems I have never had on any of my previous 10 triathlons.  I am nervous about how I will drink water while riding.  Another thing I have never had a problem with, by the way.

The run will be slow, but I know I can do it.

There is a pretty good likelihood that I will come in dead last.  Not only on paper, but in the chute.  The waves are set up so that the oldest people go last.  There are only 4 people in the 65-69 age group, and one person in the 70+ age group.  Usually the old folks are not doing tris unless they are very good.  It’s the ladies in their 30s and 40s who decide to do these races for “fun” and don’t train… and do miserably, if they even finish.

Oh! And the craziest thing ever!!!!!  We have record breaking heat all week.  But on Saturday, race day, the high is supposed to be 61º and it is supposed to be rainy and thunderstormy.  Hopping into a lake, without a wet suit, on a 50 degree morning is kind of hard, but the harder part is getting out of the water and hopping on a bike when you are soaked to the skin and cold.  Fun on a hot day, miserable on a cold day.  AND!  I bought the cutest sleeveless jersey for the race, which I may not even wear.

AND I don’t know what I am doing for race nutrition.  AND I don’t have a hat for the run.

OK, I will get over these things.  I will work on being grateful to even be able to participate, regardless of where I finish.  I will be grateful for a body that can fit into cute clothes, even if I can’t wear them on race day.  I will do what I usually do and pray to be of service on the course, if only with a smile and a word of encouragement.  I will thank all the volunteers.  I will be grateful for the day.  No matter what it brings.

This is the only way I can approach this right now.

This entry was posted in Aging, Bicycle, Clothes, Fear, Gratitude, Race, Swimming, Training, Triathlon, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Training Dementor

  1. Annette says:

    My gosh, who is this woman? You who is 30+ years in recovery form alcoholism, who went to college and got your masters degree, you who paints icons, you, a single woman who has retired from a long and successful career, you who has paid off her debt without filing bankruptcy, you who can knit professionally, you who can leap over buildings in a single bound, you who has done many many races and triathlons before…..how did she get into your head like this? Go and have fun! Even if you are dead last….who cares. You have done this before and you will do it again. There is no question.

  2. dr24hours says:

    MC you are going to kill it. Don’t worry about drafting. Don’t worry about swimming. You’re experienced and capable and will crush this.

  3. atomicmomma says:

    Well I was going to post something but Annette has already said everything that needs to be said. So has Dr24Hours. I think its great you’re trying to do a triathalon! That’s enough for me and an inspiration.

  4. Melissa says:

    Poo on that trainer woman! And so what if you’re slower than you hope to be on the swim; it’s good to have done lots of open water practice–you’ll be accustomed to the chop whereas the pool-only swimmers will be intimidated. And yup, that bike ride is going to suck until you’re warmed up, but you’ve lived through suck before. And think how much nicer the run will be with cooler temperatures! YOU’VE GOT THIS, SISTER!

  5. Hopester says:

    I go swimming most mornings of the week. I can’t hold my breath while swimming because I am low on oxygen (waiting to see if I get put on it 24/7) but I still put in my time however slow that may be. I love to swim. It took me until age 54 to find an exercise I love. Some days in the lane beside me are people training for triathlons. They lap and lap and lap me. Sometimes this discourages me but then I tell myself that I showed up and that is all that matters. You will show up. That’s a win in my books.

    • Swimming is wonderful exercise. When I am not trying to be fast, I find it very meditative. I am glad you have found the thing you love to do, so many people never do.

  6. Just go for it. First, last, doesn’t matter ….it’s about the experience, any you’ve got lots. Good luck!

  7. Annette says:

    Today is the day!! Can’t wait to hear about it….good, bad, or indifferent. ❤️

Leave a Reply

