Too Much Wonderfulness…

IMG_2296

Don Juan Rose that I moved two years ago… I thought it was dead.  Apparently not!

I have had the most wonderful weekend.  On Friday night I was invited to the Governor’s Mansion to celebrate the 5 year anniversary of the program I worked in when I worked downtown.  I was the first analyst in the program, and they wanted me to be there.  It was so wonderful to see people I knew in that job as well as my 20+ year career at the hospital.  I saw old bosses who still love me, and old co-workers who were so happy to see me.   I really forget how I had a great career for a long time – until it wasn’t anymore. But I am still remembered fondly by many, and that is probably as good as it gets in the long run.  Oh, I did some important things, and I am glad of that, but after a while, all you leave are memories.  I am glad most of them are good.

Yesterday I got to see a dear old friend who moved away 20 years ago.  I have gone to various places, like San Francisco and Tucson, over the years to visit him.  He was here to visit his mom and was kind enough to let me know.  We spent yesterday together.  He once called me his “soul-mate,” and I still believe we are in many ways.  He also once had a dream that we were driving on I-70 through the mountains with our friends, but our vehicle had only 3 wheels.  I thought that was a perfect illustration of our relationship.   It was not “meant to be” romantically, but as far as friends go, he is one of my closest.  We can go years without seeing each other, and just pick up where we left off.  Yesterday we shared updates that people do.  “how are the kids?”  “where are they living?”  “how’s the job,” etc.  But mostly, we talked heart to heart about our lives, our deepest longings and disappointments.  We both shed tears over many things.

He sobered up a few months after me, and we have known each other all this time.  32 years.  He just celebrated 32 years of sobriety.  I usually pass my chip down to him, but I forgot to bring it yesterday.  That’s OK.  It’s all good.

I am left feeling so grateful for so many blessings and beautiful relationships in my life.  The Grace of God is amazing.  I don’t have millions of people calling and clamoring for my attention these days, but I have enough.   It is so good to be reminded of the love.

God has been so very good to me.

This entry was posted in Aging, Friends, Gratitude, History, Sobriety, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

