First Rose of 2017

IMG_2218

A mere twelve days ago, this rose was encased in snow and ice.  I cannot believe it persevered and is now a beautiful rose.  It is a fragrant cloud and lives up to its name.  Very beautiful aroma.  It is difficult to photograph because it is a lovely bright shade of red/pink/orange and usually ends up looking like a glow in the dark blob.  Yesterday was cloudy which enabled me to take the best pic of it ever.

This morning I am going to plant a little pumpkin patch in a corner of my back yard.  I have wanted to do this forever, and now will give it a go.  I have all kinds of things going on in my garden – hoping they will live and bear fruit (and vegetables).  One of the cucumbers has actually latched a tiny tendril to the trellis I thought I would have to coach it onto.  So excited to see that!

A quiet life is a good life.  I am currently reading “The Power of Silence Against the Dictatorship of Noise” by Robert Cardinal Sarah.  It is very thought provoking and may cause me to make radical changes – like unplugging the cable.  I don’t get ANY television here without cable, so it would be a real unplugging.  Not sure I can get the guts to do it, but I know it would be beneficial for me if I did.

In retirement, it is very tempting to sit down in front of the TV in the daytime.  My default channel is CNN.  Righteous indignation is a drug that seems to need more and more time and energy.  I do not believe in burying my head in the sand, but I don’t have to be living in minute by minute “breaking news” as this debacle unfolds.  As it is, I have a rule that the TV doesn’t get turned on until 5 p.m.  But I really wonder how much more peaceful my home would be if I just skipped it altogether.

I want peace.  I want quiet.  I want to watch the roses bloom.  I want to see tomatoes and zucchini and eggplant and cucumbers and herbs growing in my garden.  I want to pray.

I better get out in that garden and plant those little pumpkin plants!

I hope you all have a beautiful day.

 

This entry was posted in Garden, Roses. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Rose of 2017

  1. atomicmomma says:

    Another beautiful post, Mary! Your rose is beautiful. I am going to check out this book you are talking about!

    Your 5pm rule is an excellent idea. I think may people keep the tv on all day because they are not comfortable with themselves or the silence.

Leave a Reply

