Mothers Day, Rocking Chair, Osteoporosis

IMG_2107IMG_2172

Before and After painting the rocking chair on my front porch.  It’s pretty now.  And it wasn’t before.   It is a lovely place to sit and knit.

Tomorrow is Mothers Day.  So difficult for so many people.  My friend’s mom died two years ago and this is just sheer torture for her.  My daughter is also struggling because her kids are not with her.  And of course, I miss my mom, dead since 1971, and I miss my kids being little, and I miss my grandkids.   I miss so much and so many.  I spent this afternoon with one of my daughters and will have the other over for dinner tomorrow.  It is to the point where it is too uncomfortable to be in the same room with them, so I have finally given up and stopped trying.

I had a couple of medical tests last week.  No big deal.  Once you are 65, there are new routine tests to take.  I had a bone density test for the first time.  Shock of shocks (no I am not kidding) I got an e-mail from my doc last night saying that I do have osteoporosis and she recommends starting fosamax for the next 5 years.  She who doesn’t prescribe medications.  That’s why I go to her.  I am just shocked and a bit upset.  I thought osteoporosis was for skinny old women who smoke and drink and are frail.  Not me!  I am big and strong and active and healthy!  It will take me a minute or two to reconcile those things.

I wrote back to my doc immediately, which I shouldn’t have done because I have a whole set of other, more well-thought-out questions now.  I asked her if I needed to stop riding a bike!  Well, I don’t think I am going to no matter what she says.

My sister dropped dead at her desk just about 11 months ago.  She thought she was going to live to be 95.  Well, she was short by 25 years.  My mother died at 58.  I thought I was going to live a long life too, but I think I am revising that.  I want to live while I am alive, and it doesn’t seem like it is going to be a long, long time.  I don’t mean a big long “bucket list” of stupid crap like jumping out of airplanes.  I mean going to church in the morning, cooking healthy meals, training for triathlons.  Riding my bike in the Colorado sunshine.  Swimming in the sparkling cold summer morning water.  Limping along doing this thing I call “running.”  Going out for lunch a couple of times a week.  Doing all the stuff my church now has me involved in.   Planning what may turn out to be a camping trip this summer!  Camping?  Yeah!  All by myself to top it all off!

This isn’t well-thought-out either.  I am shocked and upset.  I am certain I will come to terms with this, just as I do everything else that comes up.  Of all the conditions or diseases to get, I would have put this one really really low on the list of possibilities.  Life is full of surprises like that.

Happy Mothers Day to those for whom this is a happy day.  And the rest of us?  It will be over on Monday.  I am going to try to keep my nose out of Facebook tomorrow.  It is the most graphic example to me of how we compare our insides to other’s outsides.   And it is painful when everyone else’s family looks so happy!  And mine feels so fractured.   Theirs, I am sure, have their own challenges, but we don’t put that out there.  I don’t either.

But I sure put it here, don’t I?

This entry was posted in Aging, Family, Health. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Mothers Day, Rocking Chair, Osteoporosis

  1. atomicmomma says:

    Dear Mary,

    Your rocking chair looks beautiful.

    I personally think Mother’s Day has turned from a simple holiday into this loaded emotional piece of crap that is completely meaningless. If you google the origins of the holiday the woman who created it became disgusted with what this holiday has become. We will celebrate it tomorrow for my Mother in Law because it is important to her. I myself am a mom and I’ve told my husband and my son that I expect nothing from them. We don’t do anything for Mother’s Day or Father’s Day. I will not be measured by a stupid holiday nor do I want my son to feel any pressure to produce or perform for me.

    You’ve done what you can for your daughters. I think you’re doing what you can do like the Serenity Prayer.

    Osteoporosis and Fosamax – I’d read up on this prescription. A friend of mine was put on this drug for osteoporosis and she ended up with a hip fracture. I’m not sure I’d take anything. Besides, what the heck are your bones supposed to be like at 60 something? I think some of this stuff is being pushed by Big Pharma and docs just follow suit. I think osteoporosis is a natural part of aging but an industry is making money off it.

    Happy Mother’s Day.

    • Thanks. I am not usually one to take medications, but I am going to start this one. If I can reverse this, even a little bit, I think it is at least worth trying. But I am not one to suffer side-effects gladly, so if it causes a lot of stuff, I will discontinue.

      I really had a wonderful Mother’s Day – after all that angst. I totally respect your rejection of these phony holidays. My former brother in law used to call them “Hallmark holidays.”

  2. daisyanon says:

    Prayers for it all Mary.

  3. Annette says:

    Amen sister. Mother’s Day is a hard one for so many. For so many various reasons. Just so you know, Ive had women in their mid-90’s with osteoporosis who are out walking everyday and a joy to conversation with. I’m there more as a security for their family members, a second set of eyes, and to help them in and out of the shower. Lol
    I love the rocking chair BOTH ways. LOL shabby and new. ❤️ I’m following in your lead and staying off of FB today.

    • Annette, I will figure this out, I am just not there yet. It does help greatly to hear about women living nice long lives with osteoporosis – not all scrunched into chair, unable to move.

      That rocker makes me so happy!

  4. Nancy says:

    Thank you for your honest and compelling share (as usual). Though I have neither met nor talked to you, I feel a kindred spirit in this journey called life. I work to overcome my addiction to sugar and lack of faith on a daily basis. I want to believe it is never too late to begin again even in my 60’s. Each day I seem to start over, trying to be more patient and more kind. And to surrender my worries over to my Heavenly Father. I want so much more out of life and I am unwilling to give up on myself or on God. Wishing you the best! ❤

  5. Hopester says:

    Your rocking chair looks inviting!
    It sounds like you have a really good doctor which is a lovely thing.
    I went and figured out how to reset my password so I could start commenting again on your blog. I have kept reading all along and enjoy it just as much as ever. I am about 5 years away from retiring. I look forward to it.

    • Thank you for commenting. You know how much I love comments. Retirement really is great. Someday, maybe within a year, I think I will have a better idea of how to live this entirely new life!

  6. Mirabo Nikke says:

    Great article. I think this is awesome Rocking Chair. I like this chair After painting.
    Thank You for this article.

Leave a Reply

