Saturday Morning

IMG_1910

Went over to Red Rocks a couple of days this week to do the stairs.  It is such a good workout, and restorative mentally as well.  The mountain air, the other people, and the history of the place are very special.

(I am realizing, with horror, that I write like our president talks, lots of adjectives, not many substantive descriptions.  I will apply my former skill at writing and pay more attention to what I am doing.  OK?  I promise you, many are saying it will be tremendous, and I will make my blog great again.  Millions love it, I have heard it is the best blog in the blogosphere.)

I thought I would post today to break up the tedium of my post-retirement happy, happy posts.  This is one of the days when I don’t feel so peaceful and joyous, though most days I feel downright ecstatic at the idea of never working again.

There are many household tasks that are not getting done.  I have several phone calls to make that I have been procrastinating for weeks or even months.  There is a rocking chair on my front porch that was painted white many years ago – until a hail storm beat most of the white off of it.  I kept it in the garage for years, waiting to be painted, but dragged it back out for a halloween decoration.  It is a disaster not attractive and makes the house look like a loser lives here somewhat unkempt.  The fence in my back yard needs to be painted.  Perhaps I should build a wall instead and get Mexico to pay for it?

The days seem to evaporate.  There are times, like this morning, when I feel that I am a loser accomplishing nothing.  The days of feeling like I am resting and recouping from a long career seem to be over.

Yesterday one of my AA acquaintances told me it took him 9 months to get his bearings after he retired.  It is now 3 months for me.  Perhaps I can give it 6 more months to see how it feels.

Gosh, it sounds like I should use today to paint that silly rocking chair.  If I get it done, I will post the picture of the tremendous chair!

 

This entry was posted in Junk-blogging, Retirement. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saturday Morning

  1. atomic momma says:

    Oh gosh Mary….just be in the moment and enjoy our beautiful Lord Saviour Jesus Christ who died for our sins and the gift that each day brings us. You need to do nothing but take in the beauty of every day. It will all get done in due time. You’ve earned it. God is watching over you and brought you this far. Yes. You need time to get into the routine after so many day of being “on” for the workforce.

    So grateful for you.

  2. Mary says:

    Your editing to not sound like Trump … made me laugh. Very funny (and true). Thanks for the laugh. I needed that today

Leave a Reply

