Friday

IMG_1798

This is a photo from my outing the other day.  I was mostly on trails, walking and running. In this photo, you can see Red Rocks Amphitheater in the center.  It always amazes me to see it, just sitting there.

I might work on sewing a blouse today.  I bought the fabric and pattern about a month ago, and they are just sitting on my sewing machine waiting.  The sweater took a lot of time and effort, so I didn’t feel I could start another project at the same time.  Except of course for the pair of socks I am knitting.  Socks, I love knitting socks.  They were relief knitting.  The sweater was intense.  Socks are comforting.

It sort of amazes me that I worked so hard for so long and in the end, I get to do what I always wanted.  I always wanted to be a housewife.  I am not good at being married, so that had to be abandoned.  But now after all the years I have worked, I have a pension and am providing for myself without working… and I get to be a homemaker.  I always felt that was my highest calling.

Seems anachronistic in this world of Women’s Rights, and Women’s Grand Accomplishments.

I am grateful that I got to get an education, I am glad to look at the wall and see my Bachelors and Masters degrees.  I am glad that I had a wonderful career for as long as I did.  And then I am incredibly grateful that somehow I hung in there for the last 5 or so years when it was not enjoyable at all.  Being in the workplace as a 60+ woman was as unpleasant as anything else I have ever done.

And now I am thrilled, absolutely thrilled, that I get to go to a meeting and church in the morning.  That I get to come home and decide what I am going to do after that.  Today I may start that blouse.  Or I may go to the yarn shop and decide on my next knitting project.  Which must be a bright colored thing that may have lace, but may not have structure.  No sleeves to pick up and knit.  No side seams.  No neckline to pick up. I just want to knit something beautiful that is fun to knit.

I am more grateful than words could begin to express.  God has been so very good to me.

This entry was posted in Gratitude, History, Retirement. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friday

  1. dr24hours says:

    Between you and this pope, I may end up Catholic yet…

  2. atomic momma says:

    So happy for you Mary…..you are an inspiration in so many ways.

    I am a knitter too and know what you mean about needing a short project after something so intense like your sweater.

    There’s a cool sock pattern on Ravelry called Rose City Rollers and it’s free. They are super cool ankle socks. Also check out Arne and Carlos on youtube and their blog. They have some great patterns.

    I’ve enjoyed knitting some Christmas ornaments with my yarn stash. Right I’m working on mini sweaters and cardigans from Susan B Anderson – check out Tiny Top Down Sweater and Cardigan. You should knit some for your grand kids to have. Arne and Carlos have gorgeous Color work ornaments too.

  3. Mary says:

    You live in a beautiful part of the country … I always enjoy the pictures you post.

    Mary

Leave a Reply

