IMG_1841

I finished the sweater last night!  YAY!  I actually like it and it actually fits!  I took a lot of time with this one and really worked on getting it right, not just “good enough.”  It is not the most flattering thing in the world, but I still love it.

I am giving a talk tonight on eye-cons.  (sorry about the misspelling). I am not really ready, and I need to do some studying so I can actually sound like I know what I am talking about.  I know I could talk knowledgeably about the process, but not so much about a general overview of them.  I am sure I have the resources right here in my home to study up and not feel foolish.  (I hope)

Today is warm, even if windy.  I plan to take a bike ride this afternoon.  Wondering how I can get ready for an Olympic distance triathlon in July.  I can if I work at it.  I just need a new bike.  And I don’t want to spend the money.  One of the local bike shops is having a 70% off sale this weekend, perhaps I shall stop by and see if I can grab a bike for under $1,000.

It’s all good.  I have such joy in my heart to have reached this stage in life.  I never would have even dreamed of having a life so sweet.

In fairness, though, I feel I need to share a revelation I have had.  I do get stressed out.  I do get unhappy from time to time.  I have realized that these things are not caused by external situations.  They are because I am inclined to feel these ways.  I have gotten stressed out about the sweater I was knitting (see above).  I did it with a group and it was supposed to be done by yesterday.  I was killing myself to try to get it done, and then they extended the deadline to next week!  So silly.

Thank God I have a program to deal with my own foibles.  It is such a blessing.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Retirement, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to

  1. Nancy says:

    Your new sweater is beautiful! Thanks for sharing.
    Nancy in Cali

  2. Annette says:

    I LOVE love love the sweater and it is too flattering! especially with socks and birkenstocks. 😉 Isn’t it amazing when our lives get stripped down of everything yet we still struggle….and we look around and we realize, its just us. Just us, imperfect, human children of God who still get hung up sometimes….and the biggest revelation of all. Its ok! Its not a deal breaker in any portion of our lives. To be able to look at our character defects and take responsibility for them and not look outward….its that job, person, neighbor, etc, its just us being a person.

    • After spending over 4 months whittling a waist into my body, it is hard to put on a big sweater…. but it feels so good!

      I definitely do not want to feel stressed and unhappy, so I need to do some work! That’s OK, cuz I know how.

  3. I like your sweater – and the fact that you made it!

  4. atomic momma says:

    Mary…..your sweater is beautiful but most of all……you look BEAUTIFUL in your sweater!

    You look fantastic! The weight loss program has clearly been a good thing for you as is also retirement. I can feel such good energy coming from you – I’ve never seen a brighter smile. Life has its challenges for all of us but you are an inspiration to me.

    Your smile in this picture says everything. So happy for you my friend.

Leave a Reply

