Snowy Morning at Home

img_1748

This is the sweater I have been working on for the last six weeks.  It is a lovely shade of blue-grey.  I have not once taken a photo that shows its true color.  I am dreadfully sick of knitting it.  I have one shoulder on the front and then the sleeves left to knit.  I don’t think it will take more than a week or two (tops) to get it done.  Then I will work on small projects that I enjoy immensely.  With colorful colors that I love.  No grey for a while – or ever.

It is 7:30 a.m., it is snowing, the roads are horrendous.  And I get to stay home.  I can hear my neighbors scraping ice off their cars that weren’t in their garages.  I can hear people chipping away at ice on their driveways and sidewalks.  And I get to stay home.  In a moment I will sit down in front of the fireplace and finish the front of this sweater.

What a delicious way to spend a morning.

I am tempted to write about a woman I sponsor, but better not.  I’ll just say, I don’t understand coming to the program because you need it – desperately – and arguing with words in the big book and the concept of a higher power that is referred to as “he” and “him.”  To me that screams “I still think I am full of good ideas, and need to assert my superior intelligence.”  Which screams to me “WARNING!  WARNING!”

I am so sick of seeing people I love drink again and die.  It’s almost more than I can stand.

Let no one deceive himself.  If any one among you thinks that he is wise in this age, let him become a fool that he may become wise.  For the wisdom of this world is folly with God.

— 1 Corinthians 3:18-19

This entry was posted in Knitting, sponsee. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Snowy Morning at Home

  1. Annette says:

    People come into the rooms of our programs so broken and I am sometimes shocked at how much they still think they know too….but I was them at one time and I must never forget that. I loved many many years thinking I could figure it out. It took an ungodly amount of hell and suffering to convince me otherwise. Some of us are so strong willed and so stubborn and so afraid of letting go. Your morning does sound delicious! Absolutely! Ive spent this week doing that same thing…rain and snow and me snuggled in at home. The only difference is that I have the weight of all that I am supposed to be doing and all the people inconvenienced by my being sick, churning around in the back of my mind. I guess retirement will relieve me of that one day! 😍

    • Retirement will probably relieve you of that to a certain extent. But has taken effort on my part to realize that I am allowed to stay home and not be “doing” constantly. That trait is deeply imbedded in me, and I suspect it is in you as well.

  2. dr24hours says:

    We are ready to recover when we are ready to stop fighting and do it on someone else’s terms. I’ve reasserted some of my own ideas now that I have a few years in. But in the beginning we need to shut up, listen, and do the work we’re told to do.

  3. Mary says:

    That sweater is beautiful … what talent to be able to do that. It sounds like a wonderful way to spend a morning in early retirement … especially when you know not too long ago you would have been battling the weather.

    I’ve started going back to church again … in large part because of some of your posts, pictures, etc. It gives me peace … so thank you for that!

    Mary

    • Oh Mary! You have just made my day. Thank you for sharing that with me.

      • Annette says:

        I knew that would make you so happy. Mary C shard the gift of Adoration with me…..when ever I can pop in to meditate and be quiet with Jesus. I can’t tell you all what a gift it has been to me. I even brought “my girl” with me a couple weeks ago Mary C. Never did I think I would get to share those moments with her, but there we were.

Leave a Reply

