7 Weeks Into my New Life

img_1722

I got a new computer yesterday and this is the first thing I am writing with it!  I haven’t got the photos figured out, hence this is not the photo I wanted to use.  But there is a limit to how much time I want to spend right now.  Note:  I very seldom take a photo of the front view of my house because of the house to the left in the photo.  Purple.  Purple, and the man who lives there has decided to cover the window in the garage with a Broncos Blanket – mostly orange!  Tres Elegante!

I am seven weeks into retirement.  Sometimes it has been so uneventful that I worry I will be bored.  Those days are few and far between.  Other days I am so tired (like today) that I wonder how I will ever get any rest when my life has little structure and I tend to completely fill every second.  Most days I wake up overwhelmed with gratitude for this stage in my life and amazement that I ever got here.

On February 5, on my way home from church, I was involved in an accident and totaled my beloved car (2010 Rav4).  Someone ran a red light and the truck in front of me slammed on his brakes.  I slammed on my brakes, but the car behind me failed to even notice there was a stopped car in front of him and slammed into me, forcing me into the truck ahead of me.   The witnesses said I stopped, but by the time the police arrived they changed their story and said I did not stop.  And I got a ticket and a court date.

I found the experience terrifying.  The drivers of the two cars I was sandwiched in between got out and started screaming at each other in Spanish.  I have no idea what was going on.  I thought I was having a heart attack.  But I wasn’t.  I have whiplash and a concussion, but I consider myself extremely fortunate.  And now I drive a new 2017 Rav4, and will have payments for many years to come.  Oh well.

Most days I go to the 6:30 a.m. AA meeting, followed by Mass at 8:00.  I am in the last week of my weight loss class, so I spend time doing homework for that.  I knit a LOT.  I meet friends for meals.  I go to the gym, or out for hike.  It is a good schedule.

OH!  And I got my lipid panel and A1c done last week.  Early this week I got the results.  My lipid panel was excellent as I expected.  But the thrill is that after 4 months of this diet, my A1c is NORMAL for the first time since my doc first ordered one 2 years ago.  I am delighted to no longer carry the diagnosis of “pre-diabetic.”

I have a volunteer job at my church starting later this year.  We have a meeting to talk about it tomorrow.  I am very very excited about it.  It is something I love and am very passionate about.  I feel at this point, I need to be careful not to write too much about it.

My hope is to start blogging consistently again.  I have said it before though and then not followed through.  It is such a pleasure to have an actual computer after years of using an iPad.

Some days I feel I need to pinch myself to see if this is really my life.  It is beyond anything I ever imagined.

Never be in a hurry; do everything quietly and in a calm spirit.  Do not lose your inner peace for anything whatsoever, even if your whole world seems upset.

St Francis DeSales

This entry was posted in Gratitude, Health, Rest, Retirement. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 7 Weeks Into my New Life

  1. Annette says:

    Im so happy for you. You sound very content and at peace.

  2. Mary says:

    Sorry to hear about your accident. Sounds like you are really enjoying your retirement so far … happy to hear that. And I guess you haven’t returned your cat yet .. I hope that means she’s behaving better 🙂

  3. daisyanon says:

    So sorry to hear about the accident but very glad to hear from you and that you are alright and retirement is going well.

Leave a Reply

