My Last Day of Work

img_1448Hi There Friends!

Today I am going to work for the last time and I couldn’t be happier.  I have no doubts, regrets, or sadness.  Probably I needed this year to transition into retirement because I was not ready a year ago.  I am now. My co-workers took me out for lunch yesterday which was lovely. Even though I have pretty much hated every day at this job, I think I will look back on it fondly for all I accomplished there and the lovely colleagues I had.

The photos is from my birthday trip. A train trip to a mountain town, a soak in hot springs, more delicious meals than I can count, a beautiful hotel room, a nice friend who came with me. It was very nice.

I’m so tired right now that I don’t think I have any deep thoughts as I head out for this momentous day. I will just clean up a few loose ends, spend a few hours with the person who will be doing my job, take the last few personal items out of my office, and be done!

One thing that keeps rolling around my mind is incredible gratitude for my career with the State. Thanks to God and the program of Alcoholics Anonymous, I was able to work for the same employer for 21 years and earn a pension. That is not something that I feel I am capable of doing. This was definitely the grace of God. Left to my own devices, I would have told off the first person who irritated me and walked out the door. And if not the first person, perhaps the 10th or 100th. But I didn’t. And I am clear that is not me. That is God.

I am so grateful for a good life. A good life created out of a pile of ashes. Not by my wonderful efforts, my efforts had me a drunken lunatic at the age of 32. I came to Alcoholics Anonymous and threw myself on the mercy of the group, and they told me to turn to God and the steps. The steps led me to a better life – surrendering to God. Amazingly, it was better than anything I could have ever dreamed up.

And now – I get to start a whole new chapter. Thank you God!

This entry was posted in Health, Joy, Retirement. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Last Day of Work

  1. Annette says:

    Congratulations! I’m so happy for you! ❤️

  2. Mary says:

    Congratulations! The new chapter in your life sounds exciting. I love the picture from you birthday trip … I’m glad you had a nice time.

  3. Michelle says:

    Congratulations on your retirement.

  4. daisyanon says:

    Many congratulations and good wishes for your retirement. I love being retired. It is just about the best time of my life.

Leave a Reply

