My favorite month

I caved and bought a ceramic jack-o-lantern, and I think it’s darn cute.  With a little votive candle, it still has a certain charm.

The kitty-kitty is a bit of a nightmare.  She scratches me awake some mornings, drawing blood.  She has bit me first thing the last two mornings.  I really don’t think it’s cute at all and I’m not sure I’m going to keep her.  I would be the second person to return her to the shelter for aggression.  She would be stuck in a little cage for the remainder of her natural life, which could be a long time since she’s only 4 and it’s a no-kill shelter.   But honestly I am not such an animal lover that I want to have one around who hates me.

I have an appointment with my therapist on Monday.  I have had to admit to myself this is depression.  I hope it will pass quickly.  And especially not get any worse.

I have begun the ministry to take communion to the homebound.  It is an Amazing Experience.  Such a leap out of my comfort zone, but I think that’s probably good.

And I have a new Adoration hour!  5 to 6 a.m. On Fridays.  Yay!  I start tomorrow and I can’t wait.

These things I feel are of my new life that awaits when I retire.  It’s going to be so good.  But it has to wait until April next year.  I had some financial setbacks, and it’s just going to take me another 3 months.  That’s ok.  I have finally grown accustomed to the job – but I’ll certainly be happy to leave just the same.

Thank you for your wonderful support on my last post.  You guys are so kind to leave me such nice comments. ❤️

This entry was posted in Adoration, Cat, Depression, Retirement. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My favorite month

  1. Syd says:

    We recently adopted a cat that was evidently lost during the hurricane. He was scared and frightened and did try to bite me. But I told him NO and gave him a little slap on his head. He is now doing fine and has integrated with the other cats. Sometimes, they have to be taught boundaries too. Sending you good thoughts.

Leave a Reply

