Archangel Raphael

This is the icon of Archangel Raphael that I spent last week painting.  I got very critical of my skills and did some of those horribly self-defeating comparisons in the class.  The student body was mostly composed of professional artists.  I am not accustomed to looking around and seeing that my work is substantially more primitive than others.  They all turned out well, and in the end I was pleased with mine.  

If I had spent any time at all practicing brush strokes prior to the class, it would have been so much easier.  I did struggle in this class, it was not the peaceful, spiritual experience I was hoping for.  It did however give me an appreciation for the soft landing that is my current job.  

Not that I am any less anxious to retire.  

But if I stop to think about this job, I realize what a miracle it has been for me.  

If only I could stay in gratitude all the time.  

I can make an effort to do that, and I will.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Archangel Raphael

  1. atomicmomma says:

    Dear Mary,
    I don’t know what you were comparing yourself to but I pulled up your post, saw your work and gasped…it is so beautiful! I’ve been waiting to see this post and see what you painted! And then I read all your hard words on yourself. Trust me…..this icon you painted is really REALLY good.
    hugs and love

  2. Kathy says:

    That really is beautiful!!

  3. mla5073 says:

    Lovely, Mary Christine — this is Mary LA. While travelling in Zimbabwe I had a computer meltdown and I can’t access my old email or blog but you can reach me on marylouise5073@webmail.co.za.

Leave a Reply

