Three months

Three months today since my sister died.  I still can’t believe she’s gone sometimes.  It just seems like too much. One of my friends asked me how I was doing with this last night. I told her.  And i cried.  Even though I didn’t see my sister all the time, we talked on the phone a lot.  She was such a presence in my life and I feel like there is a gaping hole where she was.  

I’m looking forward to the icon class.  I may be doing the Archangel Raphael.  There is an icon with Archangel Raphael and Tobia, I would love to do that one.  Tobit is one of my very favorite books of the Bible.  It is part of the Apocrypha, which is not in all Bibles, but in all Catholic Bibles.  The book of Tobit is so beautiful and I love the role that Raphael plays.  

Took a trip to Mount Rushmore and Badlands National Park over the holiday weekend.  Both of my daughters came with me and it was very miraculous.  We even all slept in the same cabin!  For two nights!  Then three full days together.  

Eight years ago sober daughter’s twin sister finally gave up on her.  She wouldn’t have anything to do with her for many years.  It was hard for her to get over all the pain that was caused by my daughter in her addiction – and early recovery.  

Flash forward September 2016 – if no one knew the history, they could never guess that there was anything but sweetness between all of us.  

God is so very good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three months

  1. Annette says:

    This made me cry. You and your girls and all of that healing and redemption and renewal in those relationships. what an absolutely miraculous and beautiful thing that is. Yes, God is so good. One of my girls is resentful of the other. The resentful one is working at a job helping people who are in compromised situations to find jobs….autism, TBI, developmentally delayed, and recovering drug addicts. God has given her a young woman to work with, who has been stuck in addiction for a very long time. There are no accidents. She asked for my input on how to work with her, what she could expect, what was realistic, and I heard compassion and concern in her voice. I hope that your icon class is everything you need it to be….and I want to know more about the Apocrypha. And Tobit. Than you for your prayers. There is a progress….beautiful progress, it’s a slow process of healing. Physical and mental and emotional, but there is forward motion.

Leave a Reply

