Race Report

image

The race was great!!!  My hope going in was just to finish without embarrassing myself.  Seriously, I just didn’t want to crawl across the finish line last.  But it wasn’t like that at all.

The swim was difficult because of the way they had the waves set up.  There were too many people in each wave and they came to fast on each other’s heels.   I got mowed down several times by fast people in the later waves.  I had more contact in this race than I have in any other.  It got a bit terrifying for a little while.  But I just went back to my default breast stroke which allows maximum view.  I did a lot of breast stroke.  I finished the swim in 27 minutes.  I was a bit disappointed with that.

The worst part of my training was the bike.  I was dreading it.  I had been using my mountain bike for training and about a month ago decided I really had to get my road bike tuned up and ready to go.  I noticed that when I got on the road bike I went much faster, but I was still averaging 10 miles per hour.  Which meant it was going to take me over an hour for the bike ride.  BUT, today, I felt good and went out fast, and passed lots of people.  There were killer hills, which I guess I was prepared for, but I was a bit surprised at how long the hills were and how hard it was to sustain that effort.  But I did.  I finished the bike ride in 51 minutes!  I was shocked!  And happy!

I thought if I could just sustain a good walking pace, under 15 minute miles, I would finish in a decent time.  That was something I was not expecting.  I was able to sustain a good pace, but it ended up being over 15 minutes.  But under 16.

I finished in 2 hours, 18 minutes, and 5 seconds.  Which is 5 minutes better than the last time I did the race in 2009…. When I was 7 years younger!

I feel like a jock today.  By tomorrow I will probably get over it, but what a great feeling.  I trained and I was ready for the race.  Yay.

I’ve been telling myself some awful things lately.  About being old.  Fat.  Lazy.  Over the hill.  Etc.  Today I feel tired and spent and very very good.

64 years old, 32 years sober, life is good.  Never ever thought it could be like this.  I thought I would drink and smoke (2 packs a day) forever.  I thought I would be an old lady sitting at the end of the bar with too much skin showing.  Oh no, it is not like that at all.

Thank you God.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Race Report

  1. Annette says:

    Oh Mary! I’m so happy for you!! It is most definitely not like your worst thoughts. It is so much better and for today you are freaking Hercules living a beautifully redeemed life! ❤️

  2. daisyanon says:

    Congratulations, you are a star!

  3. dr24hours says:

    HOORAY!!! So proud of you, MC!!!

Leave a Reply

