Pre-alcoholism

This is my OPINION, not to be confused with any official stand from anyone else.

I believe my alcoholism entails a lot more than my inability to drink normally.  I believe I was a little alcoholic as a child, unknowingly waiting for the magical elixir of my first drink.  The drink that would answer all my questions and settle that “restless, irritable, and discontent.”

Why else would my childhood friends also be alcoholics (with some exceptions)?  We had yet to have a drink, so the problem was as yet  Ill-formed and unnamed.  I call it “pre-alcoholism,” the alcoholic before they ever have a drink.  We were attracted to one another because we shared this misfit-ness.  I spotted it in my daughter when she wasn’t much older than a toddler.  And sure enough, the first drink turned her from a contrary teenager to a full-blown alcoholic.  The disease was just waiting.

Obviously this is why recovery from alcoholism is much much more than abstinence from alcohol.  Without alcohol, we are left with all the “reasons” we drank like pigs.   Thankfully, we have the program to deal with those reasons so that we can live sober successfully.

But that’s not my point.

There’s a person in the political arena who has never had a drink in his life.  His older brother died of alcoholism.  So he never drank.  When I look at him, I see that overly intense look in his eyes, which I have seen so commonly in alcoholics.  I believe his whole body and soul is just screaming for a drink!

Hence, a pre-alcoholic.  And not someone I’d be comfortable with holding a high elected office.

That’s my opinion.  That and  ~$4.65 will get you an iced latte at your local Starbucks.

This entry was posted in My Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pre-alcoholism

  1. Annette says:

    Is it trump? That could explain so much! I think it’s me too….but thankfully I have my program that has tempered some of my intensity.

  2. Daisyanon says:

    I totally agree with you about the pre-alcoholism. Once I got sober I started to realise that I had been born an alcoholic, the symptoms just manifested in other ways until I was old enough to start drinking. Drinking is just a symptom of the disease labelled alcoholism for me.

  3. Syd says:

    Do you think that alcoholism is a symptom of some other problem that is there, such as ADHD, depression, bipolar disorder? I have read that and wondered because there seems to be a co-occurrence for many. I am lucky to have escaped the disease. It surely was prevalent in my father’s side of the family.

  4. Syd, I don’t think alcoholism is a symptom per se, but I do believe it co-occurs with many other disorders, as you have observed.

Leave a Reply

