2 weeks, 6 days


That’s me being happy on my bike, after an open water swim.  I have gotten so I love my weekend trips down to the lake for an early morning swim.  Before anyone else is in the water.  The sunlight gleaming on the water, the water so cold.  Most mornings, a few others will join me before I’m through.  We sometimes talk about which triathlon we’re training for.   I always think that I must continue this habit of early morning lake swimming after the race is over, but I know it is unlikely.

Biking, on the other hand, I have come to hate.  It used to be my favorite, and my strength, but now it is the opposite.  I decided that racing with a mountain bike is just stupid, so my road bike is in the shop getting a tune-up.  That thing terrifies me, but I know it is so much easier to get speed on.  I haven’t been on it since my last triathlon, 4 years ago.    I have gone over its handlebars twice – the first time breaking some ribs.  I just haven’t gotten over that fear.

The run will be whatever it is when I get off the bike.  I am not counting on doing anything fast.  I just want to finish and not embarrass myself.  This race is more about sisterhood, I will be with my age group.  We will start pretty much after the competitive wave and the breast cancer survivors.  There are always a few women who are currently undergoing chemo.  There’s a reality check right there.  And then the women who for whatever reason made this their stretch goal.  Some of them weigh a lot!  Some of them are old.  Some young.  It’s inspirational and it puts my vanity into perspective.  Yeah, I’m slow.  Yeah, I’m “fat,” but I’m strong and I’m healthy.  It’s all good.

I’m plugging, trudging, plodding along.  I’m grateful to be alive and sober.  God is good.

This entry was posted in Bicycle, Health, Progress, Race, Swimming, Training, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2 weeks, 6 days

  1. Annette says:

    Mary what are the distances for this triathlon? You are amazing…on many levels. ❤️

  2. dr24hours says:

    You’re gonna crush it. SO proud of you.

  3. Syd says:

    Inspiring again in all that you do. Good luck with it. The swim would be the hardest for me. Biking and running not so much.

Leave a Reply

