Monday Morning


Heading into a holiday weekend, gratefully.  I filled up this past weekend with too much activity and ended up with a migraine and a sleepless Saturday night.  I was a bit afraid of inactivity, but I must remember that, as an introvert, I need a lot of alone time.

I’m also a person obsessed with politics and world news.  Granted, lately I have had to switch off the constant news because I find the state of affairs in the US so disheartening. But I have been so busy of late I haven’t had time to really wallow even slightly in it.  I hope to have lots of down time next weekend.

I’ve given a lot of thought to what I really want to “get done” before I die.  There are a few things, but they’re not really “bucket list” type things.  I want to spend more time with my grandkids.  I want to experience summer mornings in the mountains.  I want to take a long train trip in a sleeper car (something I was planning with my sister).  I want to retire!!!!

But for now, I am glad I am working.  I am glad to have the co-workers I have.  I am grateful for the friendship with my office next-door-neighbor.  She’s a 37 year old (born the same month as my daughters) African American woman who I have come to like very much and admire.  We have such fun!

Dinner tonight with one of my friends who lost a brother the same week as I lost my sister.  I’m sure there will be a few tears shed. She is such a sensible young woman and very grounded.  It will be good to see her.  We worked together at the hospital for 21 years.

Boring.  Life.  Sober.  Grateful.  Grateful.  Grateful.

This entry was posted in Gratitude, Grief, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

