A death too soon


My beloved sister died suddenly on Tuesday afternoon.  She died at work, at her desk.

For some reason I never ever thought she might die before me.  She was a high-energy, never-stop person.  She wore me out whenever we were together.  This is just inconceivable to me and the rest of the family.

I am at the airport now, waiting to fly to New York City for her funeral.

I pray I can be a help to my nieces & nephews.  I pray I can remember this is not about me.  Even though my heart is shattered.  Just absolutely shattered.

We were planning a train trip from LA to Seattle in the fall.  We were going to book it on Wednesday.  I had sent her a text about some cheap flights I had found – at about the time she died.  Maybe she saw it, maybe not.

I am grateful the last time we talked it was a meaningful conversation and I told her how much I wanted us to go on vacation together – where she wouldn’t be the hostess always working.  Just the two of us relaxing.  It did not come to pass, but many things in this life don’t.

It makes me realize anew how fleeting this life is.  She really made every day count.  I’m glad she spent her summers at the beach, getting tanned.  Clearly, skin cancer was not what would get her.

If I could, I would ask for your prayers.  Thank you.

This entry was posted in Family, Gratitude, Grief. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A death too soon

  1. I am so sorry for your loss. Prayers, of course;

  2. Nancy G says:

    I will be praying for courage and strength as you walk through this deep sorrow.

  3. Meme says:

    I am so sorry for your lose. May God provide you with strength as you walk these next several days.

    On Fri, Jun 10, 2016 at 6:00 AM, onesobercatholic wrote:

    > Mary Christine posted: ” My beloved sister died suddenly on Tuesday > afternoon. She died at work, at her desk. For some reason I never ever > thought she might die before me. She was a high-energy, never-stop > person. She wore me out whenever we were togeth” >

  4. Dede says:

    I’m so very sorry.

  5. atomicmomma says:

    Oh Mary….I just signed in tonight to see how you were doing and found this. I am just so sorry for your loss and your family’s loss as well as her children now dealing with losing their mother. Please know you and all your family are in my prayers.

  6. Mary says:

    Mary … I’m so sorry to read this shocking news. I will definitely keep you and your family in my prayers.

    Mary

  7. Lisa says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. My prayers are most definitely with you.

  8. Syd says:

    I am sorry to hear that your sister died. Hard to understand and sudden death leaves those who are left stunned. Sending you good thoughts and love.

  9. daisyanon says:

    So sorry. Apologies for taking so long to comment.

  10. Kathy says:

    Healing prayers to you. So sad, yet she is in the best place now with our Father. This is a lovely family photo and such a special treat to have a statue of the Blessed Virgin in the background …. Her arms open with love.

    Hugs, Kat

Leave a Reply

