Easter Monday

image

Last week we got clobbered with a blizzard, so these flowers got buried in snow, and remain so.  Apparently we are expecting more snow today.  And Wednesday.

There is a planned trip to Utah this weekend, but we are discussing postponing it for a week, when maybe the weather will be better to go over the mountains, and will be warmer in the desert sun.  Not sure yet.

Again, so tired that I cried this weekend.  Trying to clean the bathroom, while sobbing.  “I’m too tired, I can’t do this, I don’t care if this damn toilet is clean, etc.”  The girls came for dinner, and it was nice.  It was also very sad.  The grandkids are all in Montana.  My daughter’s daughters are far far away and she is hurting.

And I feel like the latest victim in this new “War on drugs.”  My back is horrible, has been for over 20 years.  I used to have a standing prescription for Vicodin.  I would take them, as needed, one half pill at a time.  Never more than one a day.  Never.  My heart’s desire is to be sober.  Not to be all jacked up on pills.  But when in pain, a half a Vicodin is a wonderful thing.

About a year ago, Kaiser put a new protocol in place.  Signing a contract.  Submitting to random UAs.  Etc.   I said “Hell NO.”  I told my doc they needed to treat my pain.  His idea of treating pain was telling me to take ibuprofen until my stomach was ruined.  At which time he diagnosed “GERD,” and prescribed Prilosec.  That’s when I changed docs.  The new one gave me a “prescription” for yoga, weight training, and interval training.  I am doing that.  And also shoveling snow.

And now I am in so much pain I can’t sleep at night.  I am damn tired.  And in pain.  And this is the way it must be.

Enough complaining from me.  Another week.  More money in the bank.  There is a very STRONG financial recovery happening here.  It is worth it.  I can now say for the first time since 2010:

I owe no taxes.  Not to the Feds.  Not to the State.

Unless you have ever owed taxes, you may not realize the full impact of this.  It is a wonderful freedom.

This entry was posted in Garden, Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

