One week on the job

Last week on Monday, I drove across town to start a new job.  As I got into the car and headed out, I was elated to be back in the workforce.  Back in the traffic.  Back in the hustle and bustle of daily life.  So very grateful to have found a brand new job at the age of 64.  I count that as nothing short of miraculous.  

I like the job.  They like me and told me over and over how happy they were that I am there.  I went through a new employee orientation on Tuesday and discovered that I now have some pretty astounding benefits.  I will be getting some much needed and very expensive dental work!  I will see if I can get my right hand fixed after the bungled surgery of last June.  

It is a small agency.  In a big system.  We have a subset of a huge population.  Our population is manageable.  Sorry if I sound nutty.  I am talking about statistical analysis and I am excited to have a small population to deal with.  For some reason, I had imagined huge databases, and had become very intimidated by that.  Fortunately, I was wrong.  

Emotionally, I feel very happy.  I am so happy to be gainfully employed.  I have a plan for paying off my debt by the end of 2016.  Not the house, and a couple of other things (like student loans which I will take to the grave), but all of my credit cards.  At the end of this year, I should be able to really retire, without needed additional income.  But my hope is that I will be able to stay on the job for 2 or more years.  

I have felt that God had this job for me at the end of the rainbow.  When I let go of the old job and my brilliant plans and timelines.  I let go.  It looked insane.  But it turns out it wasn’t.  I am so grateful.  I feel that I am bringing just the perfect experience to this job.  

Deliberately vague about any details of the job because I SO don’t want anyone finding my blog.  Maybe I have made this post incomprehensible for my poor writing and vagueness.  I hope not.  

The bottom line is:

  • I love my new job
  • It looks like it will be the answer to my financial problems
  • They are happy to have me
  • I feel appreciated for the first time in a very long time
  • I am bringing valuable knowledge, skills, and abilities to the table.

It is up to me to keep the good attitude which is crucial in enjoying any job.  It is up to me to not let people get on my nerves.  It is up to me to not let my brain sabotage me by thinking no one likes me or someone is out to get me, even if someone is!

The only drawback I have found is the commute.  32 miles each way across town on one of the most congested interstate highways.  And it is snowing this morning, so I will find out what that is like!  

Thank you Lord for all of your many blessings.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One week on the job

  1. Kathy says:

    I’m happy for you ! Sounds like things are going well for you.
    Kathy

  2. Lisa says:

    I’m so happy that you have found the right place for you and that they are obviously excited that you are there. Such great news!

  3. Nancy G says:

    Good for you!

  4. Annette says:

    This is one of those stories of God’s blessings and grace that we couldn’t have even asked for because we didn’t know that something so wonderful was even a possibility. And debt free by the end of 2016. Wow. I am so happy for you!

  5. Syd says:

    Glad that you are enjoying the new job. I am sure that they are lucky to have you.

Leave a Reply

