Red Sky in the Morning

  
This was the sky from my back porch this morning.  There is a big storm predicted this evening and into tomorrow.  Depending on who you listen to, we will have either 2 to 4 inches of snow, or 2 to 4 FEET of snow.  I panicked when I heard this on Friday night and spent another $70. on yarn for socks I am knitting for Christmas.  

The realities of retirement are hitting me now.  As much as I don’t want a job, I really need to have a job.  Not only financially, but emotionally.  I need to have people to talk to.  I am lonely in this house.  

I am still waiting for the job that was virtually promised to me – in August.  If not for that, I would have probably arranged my life for retirement.  I would have a part time job by now.  I would at least have volunteered at church for something – anything.  

On a happier note, I have rejoined the running club I belonged to for years.  I am training for a spring half-marathon and considering a fall marathon.  It helps greatly with my self-image.  Yes, I am retired, but I am TRAINING for a half-marathon!  And I have time to do the training correctly.  Actually accomplish the mileage assigned on my training plan.  I can get out in the middle of the afternoon when it is 60 degrees, and the trails are not crowded.  The trails – where I had a close encounter with a rattlesnake last week!  YIKES.

Life is good.  God is always present, always loving, and always merciful.   

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Red Sky in the Morning

  1. daisyanon says:

    Good to hear that retirement is going well Mary, and hope that the job situation sorts itself out soon.

  2. Mary says:

    That is a beautiful picture … love it.

  3. Syd says:

    I find that there is so much to do–and so many people that are non program people too which can make life interesting and sometimes vexing. Good luck on doing what you would like to do. I know that you will be superb at whatever it is.

Leave a Reply

