Early November

image

Tuesday morning.  Third of November.  Record high temperatures expected again today.

Despite this, I am sitting indoors, with the fireplace making a lame attempt at warming my perpertually cold body.  I came down with the flu a week ago.  It’s been awful and depressing.  Since I am out of the workforce, no one nagged me to get a flu shot, and I just didn’t do it.  I didn’t think of it.  Darnit.

The day before the flu hit me like a semi, I signed up for the winter season of the running club with which I have spent many happy hours.  I really want to do at least one half marathon in 2016, and being a part of this group is the best way I know to get t here.  Not only do the work involved in the training, but surround myself with healthy happy like-minded people.

I went to my favorite local running store last week to get a new hat for the winter, and was so happy when this wonderful world-class runner, an actual race-WINNER, greeted me by name and asked me what races I’ll be doing in 2016.  Oh yeah, I am part of something.

Oh no,  I am not being humble when I call myself a “back-of-the-packer,” it’s the truth.  I have finished last on more than one occasion.   There was a time when I thought I would die if that happened, but I learned that I can survive.  My hope, of course, is not to finish last.  But I would rather have a Dead-Last-Finish than a Did-Not-Finish.   And I would rather be healthy.

One time the same runner referenced above really shocked me.  He asked me how the race we had just done was.  I sheepishly told him that I finished last, and his face lit up as he told me “Then you had the most fun!” Meaning that I was on the course the longest, therefore had the most fun.  Awesome way to look at it.  Of course, he is having the least fun as he wins… I doubt that.

I must find a job, and the one I thought was a sure thing seems not to be.  I don’t want to work full-time and I don’t want a serious job.  I will wait until next week because I still do not feel well.

Life is so good.  I can’t believe how very different my life is today, and how my mood and attitudes have changed.  It is nothing short of miraculous!

This entry was posted in Health, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Early November

  1. Sherry says:

    So nice to hear you this happy. Good luck on the job hunt and feel better soon.

    Sherry

  2. Annette says:

    So I was on to something when I thought of Starbucks and knitting shops! Lol I hope you feel better soon Mary!

  3. Syd says:

    So sorry you have been sick. Missing out on good weather there instead of being outside which I know is what you love.

    I know of a lady in one of my meetings who retired from being a hospital administrator and got a part time job in a knitting shop. She said that it is a lot of fun for her. Just a thought! Hope that you are feeling better and will be out running soon.

Leave a Reply

