My Favorite Month


This is the shawl that nearly destroyed my love of knitting.  It is finally finished and I love it.  It is a blend of wool and  silk and feels heavenly.
This photo is from  yesterday’s hike.  All the prettiness of summer is gone.  It is hot, but there is a feeling on the wind that things will be changing.  The snows will be here soon.


The above photo is from a hike taken at Rocky Mountain National Park last week.  It was a Ranger guided hike, and was just delightful.  We learned all about elk rutting ritual, saw evidence of bears finding a home for winter, and got to view the beautiful golden aspens.

This is my favorite time of the year.  It has been so wonderful to be retired and get to experience it fully.

All the years I spent worrying about retirement – what a waste of time!  I am not bored.  I am not lonely.  I do not feel that my “productive” years are over.  I feel fabulous!  I marvel every morning when I wake up and wonder what I should do that day.

I either have enough money or I don’t.  I actually don’t.  But I am not short by much, and a little job could definitely fill the gap.  I had wanted to take at least September and October off.  In November I will get serious about a job.

Yesterday I got the e-mail about the job that’s been on the horizon.  It will be posted this week.  They hope I am still interested in applying.  Of course I am, because I kind of have to be.  I cannot turn down that kind of money.  If I got the job, I could pay off my debt in a year or more, and then I could TRULY retire and have this beautiful life that I have been living for the last six weeks.  If I don’t get the job, I will have a little party for myself, because I don’t really want it.

It is amazing the energy I have when I am not fighting those awful battles every day.   I didn’t know I was fighting a battle, but every day was a moral battle just to survive the day.  Thank God That Is Over.  The further I get from it, the more awful I realize it was.  Awful.

And now it’s not.  Thank you God.

This entry was posted in Nature, Retirement. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Favorite Month

  1. Sherry says:

    I’m so happy to ‘hear’ you this happy. Congratulations on a wonderful retirement and a lot of peace of mind.

    Sherry

  2. Annette says:

    I too am so happy that you are so happy! You sound wonderful!! There is really something to learn here….I am almost always of the mindset that I shouldn’t quit, that I should see things through until their natural culmination (which could be me dying!!) You left a little earlier than you had planned and it was the absolute best decision. I am thinking after reading this, that we don’t always have to suffer through until the end of everything. Sometimes we receive the grace and wisdom to make a different decision. If we can only break out of our/my self imposed rigidity. Thank you Mary….I learn so much from you. I went to my 30 minutes of Adoration today. My best friend is now coming too. We sit there silently together and it is such a precious time for each of us. I lit a candle for a young girl who just came in after months on the streets….walked barefoot 7 miles to get to her moms house. I prayed a lot for her today. She says she is so tired, and is entering treatment today. So many things to bring before Him and lay at His feet.

  3. Syd says:

    Glad that you are enjoying this time and new chapter in your life. I certainly find that my days are filled with so many interesting things to do. It just keeps getting better and better.

  4. Kathy says:

    So happy that you are happy and enjoying your retirement. You deserve this! Hope that if you do have to take a job for awhile it will not affect you in a negative way.
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

