Three More Mondays


That’s me on the mountain yesterday.  What a beautiful day.  It was so good to be outside.  This has been a long year of treadmilling due to injuries and a surgery.  I don’t feel secure to go out into the rocky, rooty, and unsteady soil of nature when I have a bandaged or casted arm or hand.  My hand and arm are still not healed enough to ride a bike, but I am good to go on the trails!  How happy!

I got my hair all chopped off on Saturday.  I am so happy to have this short, short hair.  It is so easy, and I think it suits me better than any other “do.”  I had added some red lowlights earlier this year, but decided to let them grow out.  I actually like my gray hair.   I would like to have long hair, I had always thought that when I was an old woman I would wear my long hair in a bun.  A beautiful bun, or french twist.  But I hadn’t counted on thinning hair.  If I don’t have bangs, you can see straight through the front of my hair.

Age is a cruel master!  However, I am so grateful for my health and general wellness.  There are a few things here and there, and that is life.  But as a whole, my body is holding up well.  And though I do take good care, exercising, and eating well, I would never take credit for this blessing.  It could end tomorrow, that’s clear.

Life is feeling so much happier.  I still have to send out my resume to three different places, but I will do that today.   It is exciting to not know what is going to happen.  I have had several offers of places to live for a year if I should decide to sell my house and “live around,” trying to save money.  One is a motor home in the desert western part of Colorado, the other a mansion in the Hamptons.  They both have their charms.

So many possibilities.  I am so grateful for a loving God who gives me a push every now and then!

This entry was posted in Aging, Gratitude, Hair, Health. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Three More Mondays

  1. Syd says:

    You are a short timer now. That is a good feeling.

  2. Nancy G says:

    Best wishes for your new journey!

  3. Dede says:

    What a beautiful photo to greet the morning with!

  4. Kelly Seppy says:

    Wonderful news! God bless you as you move on to your new life!

  5. 2tovy6 says:

    Your long time Detroit friend here. I read, but never comment. I don’t want to be “traced”, you know what I mean.
    I’m delighted for you on your retirement! It has been 2 years for me now, and I have a wonderful, full life. Filling your time is NOT an issue!! One of my greatest joys is getting to the gym when I get there, staying as long as I like, and kibitzing as long as I want. For many years I had to be there at 5:30 a.m., stay focused, no talking, and out the door for work by 6:45 a.m. There is more, much more that occupies me..but this unstructured exercise time still makes me smile every day.

    I will continue to check in on your next life phase. One aspect of aging is being more awake to how we spend that non renewable resource–time. Our sixties are truly the years to shed the shallow, the unimportant, the dishonest. Blessings on your journey, and a Mi Shebeirach for your daughter.

Leave a Reply

