On the Road to Retirement


That’s my daughter, as she left for Montana on Sunday.  I asked if they wanted to take my rocking chair to put on the roof of the truck, it would complete the “Beverly Hillbillies” picture.  I was heartsick to see her go.  I was heartsick that she was leaving this way.  And then she was out of touch for 36 hours and I was sick to my stomach worrying about her.  But they made it.  I have to be done worrying about her like this.  She is a 36 year old woman!

I’m starting to feel more calm about retiring.  I am grateful that I can.  I am glad to be leaving my workplace.  I can’t believe I lasted as long as I did because it really is not a friendly, healthy environment.  I still have 18 more days to get through.  18 days too long in many ways, and then far too short when I consider all I need to wrap up in that time.

I am going to an AA meeting AND mass on my way to work this morning.  I need to do anything I can do to keep the fear at bay.

It’s getting better every day….

This entry was posted in Family, Fear, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the Road to Retirement

  1. Annette says:

    Mary, you sound like me! Lol it’s an awful awful feeling. What has helped me the absolute most with my girl ( or anyone or anything….and yes it’s simplistic) is when I can put her into the hands of God just for today. We have a God who is big enough to cover Montana too. And all the roads inbetween. I know you know all of this. But
    My sponsor reminded me of something I already knew the other day and it was a life line in a storm that I was lost in. I’m praying for your girl and YOU sweet mom! (It makes me feel less like a big worrying dork to see that EVEN Mary worries sometimes!) deep breath and onward we go!

  2. Mary LA says:

    Good to know your daughter’s safe.

    Mary Christine, a friend of mine had to retire suddenly for health reasons and took a workshop on ‘how to live within a restricted fixed income and still save money’ that helped her cope with her fears of what might happen a few years down the line. I’m praying you find peace of mind as you go into this new stage of your life.

  3. Syd says:

    I am excited for your daughter and for you. Life is looking good, even though it may seem difficult.

Leave a Reply

