Thirty-One Years Ago Tonight

I took my last (please God) drink of alcohol.  I will celebrate my sobriety date tomorrow, because it is the celebration of my sobriety, and I celebrate the day I got sober.

Tonight is just like that night 31 years ago.  A hot summer night in Denver.  We piled in the car and drove to the library.  I was driving up Wadsworth Blvd. wondering why I would be driving drunk with my husband and three kids in the car.  And for the first time, it occurred to me that I would be driving drunk because I hadn’t been sober in years.  There was probably never a time between 1979 and 1984 that my BAC wouldn’t have gotten me arrested – morning, noon, or night.

I had a micro-vision of what a low-life I was.  And for some reason, it didn’t go away within a micro-second.

The next morning I picked up the phone book and looked up AA.  And the rest, as they say, is history.

Today I spoke with my best friend who was the voice on the other end of the line when I asked for help.  It was the only 12 step call she ever did.  I have no doubt of divine intervention, because she was exactly who I needed to talk with that day.  And she was exactly who I needed as a best friend forever.  She now lives in England, and she long ago started to drink again, but she is still my bestie.

I thanked her for the hour she gave me on the phone that hot morning in July 1984.  It seems so trivial now.  An hour on the phone, yawn.  But I had been so isolated for years that the only person I had to talk with on the phone was a paid professional who sent me a bill at the end of each month.  Detailing the phone calls.  Drunken phone calls.

I could not believe this woman would spend an hour on the phone with me.  She understood me like no one else ever had.  She talked about drinking like me!  She talked about doing the same kind of insane things I did.  She was just like me!  It was a moment that has never left me.  That aloneness I had always felt left me that day.

I am never alone because I belong in the fellowship of Alcoholics Anonymous.  There I found a whole fellowship of people like me.

God has been so very good to me.

Thank you to each and every one of you too!

Love, mc

This entry was posted in Gratitude, Sobriety. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thirty-One Years Ago Tonight

  1. Annette says:

    Oh Mary, I LOVE stories like yours. They are the most beautiful picture to me of a loving God pouring out His grace and compassion on his sweet girl who had lost her way. Bless your heart for never taking that for granted and for remaining humble and gratefull all these years. This post filled me with joy and gratitude.

  2. Mary LA says:

    Congratulations, Mary Christine, on an amazing 31 years sober!

  3. atomicmomma says:

    31 years sober. That is truly amazing. YOU are amazing, Mary. I am so grateful for you and your blog. One thing people don’t really understand is that sobriety is contagious. Your sobriety inspires me and helps keep me sober. Never forget that you are not alone in this. On top of everything else you are always so humble and graceful in your sobriety. Who wouldn’t want to try living a sober life when someone like you shines such a beautiful light on what it looks like to be sober. Thank you for sharing this wonderful gift with us.

  4. Mary says:

    Now that’s Christmas in July – Congratulations!!

  5. Syd says:

    Such a good thing that you are 31 years sober. And you have lived a good life which would not have been possible unless you quit drinking. Very glad for you, MC.

Leave a Reply

