Back to “normal”

On Friday morning, this is where I had my morning prayer and meditation.

Now I am back to my house, which I love, but it certainly does not have that view!

Today I go back to work.  I know I am ready for retirement.  I have no feelings whatsoever of wanting to go back to work today – or ever.  Normally at the end of a vacation, I want to go back.  I want the structure.  I want the people to say good morning to.  I am ready to move on to the next phase of my life.  I am done with my career.

I have another 16 months to work.  As we know, 16 months can fly by.  It also can drag.  It is a matter of attitude, but not completely.  I will be getting a new boss next month as my dear friend and boss retires at the end of this month.  I pray the new boss will just leave me alone.  Everyone has assured me that is what will happen, but I am a little leery of a young man who is full of energy and wants to manage me.

I gotta get on the treadmill now.  Gained 3 lbs.on vacation.  Lost 2 yesterday.  One more to go.  It is good to be back on a good food plan with no sugar or junk.

Thank you Lord for this day and all that it may bring.

This entry was posted in Rest, Retirement, Travel, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to “normal”

  1. Syd says:

    That is a gorgeous view. I can imagine how cool it must be. We have been sweltering here for a couple of weeks.

    I knew when I was done and ready to leave my long time career. I mourned leaving nonetheless. But a few weeks after I left, I could feel the weight lifting. Now I hardly think about being in the Lab. I still meet with colleagues and occasionally will write a scientific document or review one. But I am free now to make my own schedule and choose what I want to do. It is a great feeling.

  2. daisyanon says:

    Good luck Mary.

Leave a Reply

