Post Family

  

The other half of my grandchildren moved to Montana on Saturday.   There are no more grandchildren who live within 900 miles of me.  To say my heart is broken is an understatement.  I always wondered how long-distance grandparents did it, now I will find out.   It is good for them, and so I must be happy for them.  But my God, this is awful.  

My first reaction when I heard they were leaving was:  I will retire to Montana.  I need to be near my kids.  Over the weekend, I did some research on AA meetings and Catholic Churches in the little town I am considering.  The church looks fabulous.  There are two AA meetings a week, and one happens to be in the Catholic Church basement.  And I had this overwhelming feeling of not wanting to be the “new girl” at this age.  Or ever.  At church or in AA.  I don’t want to learn new grocery stores, new yarn stores, new people.  

What I thought would be just aint happening.  

Ten years ago, I was the matriarch.  But the little ones are gone.  I will be someone who visits once or twice a year.  

I will adjust to the new reality, but I haven’t yet.  

My heart is broken.  God help us all.   Please.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Post Family

  1. Annette says:

    Awww Mary. When you actually do retire who knows what will be at that time. I’m sorry your heart is broken today though.

  2. daisyanon says:

    I am so sorry you have this loss. Holding you and your family in my prayers.

  3. I always read your posts, but I haven’t commented in a long time. From one grandmother to another, if you can go, go. What is more important than being in those children’s lives? Those fears that are holding you back are temporary, how long would you be the new girl? Not very long in the whole scope of life. And you’ll have your family. I’d rather be the new girl with my grandkids around me, than the old girl all alone..

  4. Dede says:

    I’m so sorry.

  5. Nancy says:

    I so feel your heartbreak, and my son is only an hour and a half away! I will be holding you up in prayer.

    Nancy in Cali

  6. Mary LA says:

    So sorry to hear this, you are in my prayers, Mary Christine. They will miss you too —

Leave a Reply

