Rain, Rain, and Rain

When I woke this morning, I grabbed my glasses and phone, as I always do.  I opened the weather app on my phone and prayed for even one little sliver of sunshine in the forecast for the next five days.  No sunshine.  It has been this way for weeks.  The rivers, lakes, creeks, trails, and bike paths are flooded and the levels are rising daily.  Sometimes hourly.  The park near my home is largely under water.  They just finished repairs from the floods of 2013.  The leaves on the tree in front of my house froze on Mother’s Day.  They turned black and fell off.  Now it looks like I have a dead tree in the front yard.  So sad.

I think of my touch of seasonal affective disorder (296.99) and realize I am not in bad shape considering this horrifying weather.   I am grateful for that.

I am planning another vacation, which always makes me pretty happy.  Having never been to Glacier National Park, I had no idea where to stay.  I usually check “Trip Advisor” reviews and photos.  I spent days doing this and found nothing that seemed reasonable to me.  Not really because of price but because of the accommodations.  Finally, I discovered a lodge nearby and booked a suite (sweet!).  I invited my son and family, they are excited to join us.  I am so excited!

And now the diet to prepare for a happy vacation 🙂

When my arm was broken on December 12, 2014 all of my physical activity ended.  I maintained my standard 10,000 fit bit steps, but that is not enough for this woman.  It took about 3 months for me to start gaining weight, but when it started it was scary!  6 pounds in about 6 weeks.  I went into my “orange zone.”
I won’t usually write about weight here because I absolutely hate the world’s obsession with thin women’s bodies.  My goal is never to be thin.  I have a great body, I normally have lowish blood pressure, normal blood sugar, good cholesterol and the ability to be active and relatively pain-free.  That is a great body in my book.

There was a time though when I got WAY out of whack.  My weight got very high, I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia, I was a very sick girl.  Girl of 49.  I was in my first management job and I was getting my master’s degree – full time at school and work.  Eating bags of crap from the hospital gift shop for lunch and dinner many days., because I thought I didn’t have time to eat real meals.  I just kept getting larger.

I started exercising.  Lots of bike riding.  Swimming.  Roller blading.  I started riding my bike for transportation to work more days than not.  I started eating real food again.  And by my 50th birthday, I had lost 30 pounds, and felt great.

There’s where the lines and zones came from.  I realized that after a certain weight I am not healthy at all.  My legs swell, I am bloated and my body doesn’t work right.  That is the red line.  That is ten pounds less than my highest ever weight – which I have not reached again in the last 16 years.  There is an orange line that is twenty pounds less than my highest weight.  That is where I am now.  I can still wear size 12 clothing, but it is tight and I find I need to “hide” areas of my body.

So I am now on a diet – I have lost that six pounds in a week.  (“State of Slim” – it works!) I want to lose at least 5 more.  I want my clothes to fit when I go on vacation.  I want to be comfortable.

I am working out every day again.  Regaining my fitness is going to be difficult, but I will do my level best and working out for 90 minutes a day should get me there.  I want to get back to my equilibrium – working out enough to eat whatever the hell I want without gaining weight.  I will get there again.

Being 63 is way different than 53 though.  WAY different.  My orthopedic surgeon shared with me that he though us boomers will change what aging looks like…. I hope so.  Yeah, the orthopedic surgeon, that is another story for another day.

Love, MC

This entry was posted in Aging, Health, History, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rain, Rain, and Rain

  1. Syd says:

    Sounds like a good vacation. Staying fit does take work. We work out a lot. I am almost at my college weight. But if I slack off then I am toast.

Leave a Reply

