Back where I belong

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/898/36199626/files/2015/01/img_0241.jpg
This is a photo of me & my daughter near Positano, Italy. It is a beautiful place and we were blessed with good weather.

Yesterday I got to go to a meeting at my home group. It was my friend’s 30th AA birthday. I cried, several others also were crying. I was somewhat comforted knowing that my friend was reacting much the same way I did when I celebrated 30. Unbelievable gratitude, but a realization of how much of our lives are over. His sponsor, my old boyfriend, is now in a nursing home, and seldom even knows who he is when he visits. So sad.

But what a beautiful thing to have spent such a huge chunk of time living sober. We were all very sick alcoholics and recovery from that is a lifetime job. Thank God we had each other, and still do.

Newer folks sometimes don’t want us to say we are still recovering and still need the program, the fellowship, and God’s help every day. And I see lots of AA members who say they’re only involved in AA to “give back.” Oh yes, we do need to give back, but I need to have fresh, green, sobriety every single day. My alcoholism did not go away, it’s still alive and well and still desires my death.

I’m so glad to be back home, and grateful to still have 3 days off before going back to work.

Happy new year everyone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back where I belong

  1. sherylswool says:

    Happy New Year to you as well. So good to have you back.

  2. mrq522 says:

    Thank you for sharing on this blog. I am sober and Catholic and am inspired and encouraged by your posts.

  3. Hope says:

    Happy New Year, Mary!

  4. Annette says:

    Oh Mary, I just love you. I love your kind of sobriety. Its real, authentic, and humble. Its beautiful to me. Its God’s grace walking around each and every day. It just touches me so deeply.

  5. Syd says:

    Wishing you the best in 2015.

Leave a Reply

