Photos from Italy

IMG_9114

This was a little throw-away photo of the Colosseum.  I am not even sure I stopped to take it, I think I might have just snapped it as I walked by.  It was Sunday, the last day of the trip, and I was so tired.  I think it is my favorite photo.

IMG_8806

I fell and broke my arm on December 12.  The radius is fractured in 4 places.  The orthopedic surgeon looks at my x-rays and shakes his head and tells me how fortunate I am that this bone is staying in one place and I don’t need surgery.    They thought it might drift apart during my trip, but the x-ray yesterday revealed that it is healing miraculously well.  Thank God.

IMG_8825IMG_8842

The line at St. Peter’s to get the tickets for midnight mass .  It was hours long. The Swiss Guard man took my letter and went to get the tickets.

IMG_8890

Waiting in the square for hours to get in the door was a wonderful experience.  Meeting people from all over the world.  Really nice.

IMG_8904

At Mass.  I took this photo, and then felt like an idiota for taking a photo at mass, so I stopped.

It was beautiful, profound, moving, awesome.  The music was phenomenal.

I wanted to post more photos, but WordPress has changed and I can’t see what I am typing as I type, and it is so tiresome.  Typing with a broken arm is not easy.

I hope to publish my photos of Florence, more Rome, Pompeii, and Sorrento later.  But this is too much for now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Photos from Italy

  1. Syd says:

    Beautiful photos. I can only imagine the beautiful music. So much of ancient tradition and architecture there. I am sorry about your arm. Ouch! Hope it continues to heal well. Sending warm wishes to you.

  2. Dede says:

    Thank you for sharing these. Lovely. I hope you feel better soon.

  3. daisyanon says:

    Lovely pics

  4. Annette says:

    I am so happy that you got to go on your trip. ❤

  5. alex21 says:

    The colour of your cast was very nice.It seems that you broke your arm really bad.Has your arm tottaly healed?I was in a cast too.I broke my wrist and thumb playing soccer.I had my third cast removed 2 months ago.Hope you feel better and you dont have any pain.

Leave a Reply

