The Freedom of Post-Menopause Life

It takes a while to realize this, or at least it has for me, being post-menopausal is really kind of great.

I don’t have to worry about menstruating a quarter of my life away, and all the attendant nonsense with that.  I don’t have PMS, so I can trust what I think and feel from one minute to the next.

Menopause is over.  And as far as our culture goes, so am I.

No one talks about the joy of being post-menopausal.  I never expected this.  I don’t need to worry about eating soy or taking pregnant mare’s urine.  I no longer have the hot flashes that were an absolute terror to me.  It wasn’t just being hot, it was feeling like I was going to die from heat and not being able to breathe.  And to sit in meetings and try to act like that was not happening.  Oh, hell no, I am so glad that is O.V.E.R.

I finally let my hair go natural and I am thrilled to see the grey streaks in it.  I think they are pretty.  My hair is sort of a “sugar and nutmeg” color.  (yes, I did make that up.)  I cut it short, just like old women do.  It looks pretty and fresh, and I am thrilled with it.

I don’t lie about my age, never have.  I am 62.  I like being 62.  I would like it better if I were retired though I think.  I like that I am as good as I am going to get.  Yes, you may call that being on the decline, but I am good with that.  I’ve had a big life.

I am grateful to be as healthy as I am.  Grateful because I think in life this is largely a crap shoot.  I could of course try to take credit for that by saying I eat well and exercise, but so do lots of people.  I have some arthritis, that is life.  My eyesight and hearing are not what they were.  Again, that is life.

I am happy to be the way I am.  I have a belly, I have some wrinkles, I have some veins on my legs.  I am not so freaked out about the way I look.  I am not so invested in clothing or even shoes as I was just a few years ago.  I am not trying to look like I am in the market for a man, because I am not.  I frequently go without make-up.  What fun!

Why don’t women talk about what a great time this is?

I think I shall do that for a while.

And thank God he let me live this long.

This entry was posted in Aging. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Freedom of Post-Menopause Life

  1. atomicmomma says:

    Good grief what I would give to be in your shoes right now as a menopausal woman. 45-50 days between cycles and the sheer awfulness of everything about it in between. My ovaries are retired I can’t wait to get to where you are Mary Christine. I’ve got long hair and yes ready and waiting to cut it short. Bless you for this post as I am typing this in between hot flashes!

  2. Annette says:

    Mary, you lucky dog! I am so jealous!!!! On so many fronts. I loved reading this and your contentment with aging. I would love to cut all of my hair off but am too afraid since its curly….it could look like a little fuzz ball on top of my head! lol I have missed reading you so much. Things have been crazy so forgive me for not emailing. I have really missed you though. And I would love to see a picture of your natural hair!

  3. Daisyanon says:

    Preach it sister! Talking with a friend yesterday about the happiness of being older!

  4. I don’t want to rush time because I am really trying to be grateful for this moment but I am tired of being in peri-menopause. Crazy heavy periods one month, the next almost non-existent. My nipples are so sore. I do not like the chin whiskers or hot flashes. My moods are crazy. This too shall pass, right?

  5. Hope says:

    I’m comfortable with saying how old I am, too. Always have been – feel like it’s a privilege to get older as not everyone gets to. I’m not postmenopausal yet nor is my hair my natural colour but those things will come, too.

  6. Syd says:

    It’s good to be who you are and feel comfortable with that no matter the age. I have some grey in my hair now, along the sides. And damn it, I have some chest hair that is grey. My wife was teasing me about plucking those out. I am happy to be doing what I am doing physically. And to be healthy. I’ll take it.

  7. Ugh, I am 39, but am happy to read that there is a “pot of gold” at the end of the menopause rainbow???!!!??? Happy to see you posting again. I always worry about you and your family when you don’t post anything for a few days.

  8. Pamela says:

    I so enjoyed this post and it made me smile. I am 52 and pre menopausal….and it is not a lot of fun but eh it is what it is!

  9. Tami says:

    Miss you. Keeping your life and family in prayers.

  10. Pingback: Soy for Menopause Significantly Reduces Hot Flashes | Mojo Menopause | Symptoms, Remedies, and More

Leave a Reply

