1,000 miles north

IMG_8377I’ve now seen the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone National Park.  They were both breathtaking.  Definitely worth the trip.

But something happened yesterday that I am still processing.  I am traveling with the daughter whose daughters are in the custody of her father, my ex-husband.  They spend the summers in Montana.  We got a call when we were entering into Yellowstone.  My eldest granddaughter wanted to know if we were planning to drive through their town.  We were not.  We quickly changed our plans.

For the first time, my daughter was invited to the MT home of her father.  Since I was driving the car, I was invited too.  He and I, the parents, grandparents, and ex-spouses sat on his beautiful deck on watched the “girls” play.  One of the girls my 35 year old sober daughter, the others her daughters.   This is the man who wouldn’t come to my son’s wedding because I would be there.  Who won’t come to a grandkid’s birthday party if I am going to be there.  Etc.  And yet, there we were chatting.  I felt like crying.

So many years I spent with that man.  He is the father of my children.  It was awfully nice to talk with him.  I told him I liked his beautiful home and I was glad he has it.  I actually meant it too.

Now we are in the new town of my son and family.  We just had lunch with them.  My daughter and son have gone fishing, while I took a nap at the hotel.  I am exhausted after all this driving!  I have seen all four of my grandchildren over the last 24 hours and that is a wonderful feeling.  So many plans for the weekend.  I am very much looking forward to it.

I have just learned about the terrible things going on in the world.  Imagine me spending three days with no media.  Crazy.  But good.

 

This entry was posted in Family, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 1,000 miles north

  1. jeanne says:

    Don’t over process this. Let it be the true gift it is. See your Romans verse on your header.

  2. Annette says:

    I wish I could FaceTime you the smile this gave me. Bless your gracious heart for being humble enough to accept the gift of today.

  3. Syd says:

    Good that it appears some living amends are being made through the invitation to visit and have a conversation. It all sounds good. Enjoy your visit and the beauty of those mountains.

Leave a Reply

