Rethinking

 

Some tomatoes in the garden!

Some tomatoes in the garden!

One of my brothers gave me some advice when I saw him almost 2 weeks ago.  “Work for as long as you possibly can.”  He said he fell apart once he retired.  I have been thinking about this.  Seriously considering.  The major difference between he and I?  His work was his life.  He was very successful, and that is really what he did.  He did not fish, he did not hunt, he did not garden, he did not dance, he did not collect stamps, what he did was work and make lots of money.  That is certainly not my style, but then again, I should not dismiss his advice because of our differences (I would never listen to anyone if I did that)!

On a day like today, I would like to call in retired.  “Hello boss?  I won’t be in today, or the rest of my life.  I’m tired.”

I am having great difficulty getting enough sleep.  I set the alarm for 4:30 each morning so that I can work out for an hour and a half.  That’s very good.  What’s not good is that I do not get to bed at 8:00 p.m. like I plan.  Last night I was in bed and asleep by 8:30, but the phone rang at 9, and I answered it.  After I got off the phone, I was so wound up about the Rome trip, I couldn’t sleep.  At about midnight, I turned off the alarm.  But I have a kitty, and she likes to wake me up between 4 and 4:30 each morning.

My neighbor took the gate of my fence apart.  I begged her not to when she said she was thinking of doing it.  But she did it anyway.  She ruined it of course, and it needs to be completely reconstructed.  She bought the supplies, and I did not offer to reimburse her.  She is working on that every night when I get home from work.  Every night I tell her I cannot help her, and every night, I end up helping her.  I really hate that she did this.  She is such a good friend, and our friendship will not end over this, but I told her she has to stop “fixing” my things.

I’m just tired.  And I need to give a presentation at 10:15 this morning that I wasn’t informed about until 5 p.m. last night.

Why would I write a whole blog post about being tired?  Because I am too tired to do otherwise I guess.

This entry was posted in Friends, Garden, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rethinking

  1. kelly says:

    What is that saying about good fences and good neighbors? Hmmmm. I’m sorry about the fence thing, but you do have your own things to do and you weren’t the one to take the fence apart, right?

  2. Kathy says:

    Hi Mary…. I have been reading your blog for a long time… I don’t usually comment but would like to tell you that you I understand your feelings about retiring. You and I are the same age and are in similar circumstances in terms of living alone and the future looking a little scary financially. It is a hard decision to make – but I decided that being with my family was most important to me and I retired 2 years ago. I have been pleasantly surprised at how I have managed to survive the $$ part so far living on half of my previous salary. Of course all situations are different…. and not trying to tell you what to do but wanted you to know that you are not alone thinking about these kinds of things. It is hard…. but sometimes we can find a way to do it. I have….. maybe you can too when you are ready…. and maybe that will be sooner than later 🙂

Leave a Reply

