While the body butter soaks in….

IMG_8088

I shall sit here and eat my oatmeal and blog.  The photo is from a hike my daughter and I took a couple of weeks ago.  It was such a beautiful day.

Do I need a quick lesson on Soccer 101 so that I can join the excitement?  Never have I heard so many people talking about this kind of football.  I still can’t wait for the beginning of our football season, and have just a month or so to wait.

A friend at work is bombarding me with info about travel to Italy.  I may very well take a five week course on Travel Italian.  The idea of not being able to communicate does not appeal, although I have been assured that you do not need to speak Italian in Rome.  I think people should try to at least know a few words of the language of the place they are visiting.  That’s probably old-fashioned.  Oh well.

Yesterday Patricia commented that she traveled in the last few years she worked as a way to “hold on.”  I already feel differently about work, knowing that I am going somewhere I have always wanted to go.  When work is a way to finance the things I dreamed of, rather than a way of drudgery to pay off debt, it is a very different thing.

This is good.

Thank you Lord for this day and all that it may bring.

This entry was posted in Roma, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to While the body butter soaks in….

  1. Annette says:

    What an interesting perspective….working to pay for things you want to do. To meet goals. Not just keep afloat. Truly that has never occurred to me. I would imagine that it would feel really good. Mary I learn something new from you every day that I read. You always give me something to think about or to work toward. Thank you.

  2. Syd says:

    I think it’s good to learn a few words in a country where you are traveling. It does seem courteous. I wish that I were fluent in more languages.

Leave a Reply

