Niya Loves Yogurt

Weird, she has never been interested in my food before.  I left the dish of yogurt, blueberries, and flax seed cereal on the desk while I left the room.  When I came back, my cat was standing on the chair, and quickly lept to the floor.  I told her “You better not have eaten my yogurt!”  When I was finished with the yogurt, I put the dish on the floor and she is still meticulously licking every single molecule of yogurt out of the dish.  Can yogurt be good for cats?  I wonder.

Yesterday I decided to make some more homemade yogurt, knowing full well what it will do to my arthritic parts (mostly my hands).  Weeks without dairy will make me forget.  I am sure I will be remembering  by tomorrow.

At the Sunday morning meeting of my homegroup, I looked across the room and saw a woman I had sponsored 25 or so years ago.  She was a very strange woman, but has managed to stay sober all these years.  She now lives in California, but is in town to visit.   She talked in the meeting about her poor health, and the efforts to obtain the help she feels she needs.  After the meeting we talked, and she talked about her health, with vivid descriptions of strange neurological events unknown in the history of medicine.  I told her I would pray for her, and she looked at me sternly and told me “Pray that I get Social Security Disability.”  Wow.  Bless her heart.  I pray she gets God’s will for her because disability or not, it will be better than anything she is going to dream up.

The depression lingers.  I lost my glasses on Saturday.  I have searched everywhere and they are gone.  Yesterday I drove to the hiking trail my niece and I hiked on Saturday.  The last place I saw them was in their little case on the back seat of my car.  Maybe when I got my jacket out of the car they fell out?  Maybe some kind citizen hiker found them and placed them on a post or a rock?  Nope.  I have found tiny things I forgot I ever owned under the seats of my car.  But not any glasses.

The depression comes with confusion and a lack of cognitive ability.  I find this frightening and embarrassing.  And people wonder why someone with depression might want to isolate?  I feel like it is risky behavior just to leave my house at this point, but I leave just the same.

And now I best get ready to get to work.  After the most gorgeous walk/run this morning.  Lovely, beautiful, divine.  I used my iPhone app for the Rosary and prayed while I went.  I could still hear the meadowlarks singing, and saw the sun rise.  If this can just stick with me all day, I may survive another day!

This entry was posted in Cat, Depression, Nature, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Niya Loves Yogurt

  1. Syd says:

    I’m sorry about the glasses, but am glad that you are not isolating too much. Thinking about you and hope the depression lifts soon.

  2. Annette says:

    Oh Mary….I’m so sorry to hear about your depression. I wish it would just leave! Are you back on meds?
    Kittens love a saucer of milk…it makes sense that yogurt would be a fav too. So dairy is bad for our aging joints and arthritis? Are you still eating the Paleo way?
    As to your old sponsee….yikes! I have a sponsee that has a lot of health issues and we spent the first part of every meeting with me listening to all of that. I finally now give her a couple minutes then say “ok time to get started!” Lol

    • Annette says:

      Wait! I hit send too soon! Lol I can only imagine the courage and the sheer determination it takes to walk out the door each morning….and I only bring that up because its a tribute to who you are Mary. Keep putting one foot in front of the other the best you can….this will pass. ❤

  3. Kelly H says:

    Depression was isolating for me in different ways. It made me want to do things in private- made me cringe at the sound of unfamiliar people- it made me feel extreme comfort in the confines of my home. Isolating seemed to be the least damaging part of my depression. It gave me space. I’m not sure why- I guess bc without the depression I am extremely enmeshed and codependent with my family of origin and it is exhausting.

    Anyway- not surprised about your kitty liking yogurt. I have a cat who begs for ice cream- he is smart enough to know what I’m doing with a pint and a spoon 😉

Leave a Reply

