I’ve got a problem

Fence

Two weeks ago on a Saturday morning, I heard a great deal of sawing and clinking and wood being thrown around.  I wondered who was doing all this work, and looked out the window, but didn’t see anything.

Later I realized the sounds were very close, and walked around to the side of my house and saw my neighbor taking apart my fence!  It is a small (14′) section of fence between my house and hers, between my front yard and back.

When I moved here it was one of my favorite features of the property.  It is made of siding, to match my house, with a white gate in the middle.  It was adorable.  But we live on a shifting hillside.  The fence has pulled away from the house and the gate no longer closed.

My neighbor (who you all know I love) has been looking at this and saying she could jack it back into place.  On that Saturday she started and then just kind of didn’t stop.  In her efforts, she started sawing, and took the fence apart.  She sawed down a post that is set in a huge pile of concrete.  Now we need to remove the concrete.  Etc., etc.  Basically the fence needs to be replaced because it is ruined.

I am currently saving every single penny I can because I am going to Montana this summer to see my son and family.  A new fence will kill my plans, it would also break my heart.  I do not want to invest in a new fence.

I also don’t want to work every evening and weekend to try to figure out what to do with the current fence.

My neighbor is so upset with herself.  I can’t disagree when she says “what was I thinking?  coming over here without asking and taking your fence apart?”  I agree, I don’t know what she was thinking.  But I was able to tell her “Your intentions were good, I appreciate all of your help, I am not angry with you, we will figure this out.”  But honestly, at this point, I haven’t got a clue how we will figure this out without a lot of money.  Good Lord, that fence was the last thing on earth I wanted to spend money on this year.  I don’t have a thousand dollars laying around to call a contractor and get a fence put in.  That would solve the problem.

At one point, it “looked” OK if we just put everything back in place and left it alone.  It doesn’t now.  I really don’t want to deal with this.  I made a date with her to work on it on Saturday morning.  I don’t think we can fix it.  I KNOW I don’t want to work on it.

And I hate how upset she is.  She is inconsolable.  That is why I feel I have to work with her on it on Saturday.  Maybe when we leave for Home Depot on Saturday morning, I can talk her into going to Starbucks instead and talk her into leaving it alone until I can pay for a new fence.

Good fences make good neighbors.  — Robert Frost

 

This entry was posted in Friends, Garden, Thrift. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ve got a problem

  1. Annette says:

    Firstly, I read yesterdays post and commented but it didn’t actually make it to your comments for some reason. Anyway, yesterdays post was so happy and I loved reading about your knitting and the new blouse and I hope we can see it when you are finished.
    As to the fence….your poor neighbor! This is so something I would have gotten myself into because I wanted to be “helpful!” I can certainly understand your frustration…
    You know, if you are open to a different type of fencing….Home Depot, or whatever you have out there, will have section of picket fencing…..and ready made gates and cute gothic posts already made. You would just need to set the post in cement and then attach the fencing. Paint it white and ta da…for that small section maybe it would cost 150.00 – 200.00.
    I’m sorry you are having to deal with this. If it looks like it does in the picture….you could also leave it alone until later. Hang a wreath on the gate and leave well enough alone. :o) See! I want to fix this for you in the worst way!! LOL

  2. Syd says:

    I would be unhappy too if someone messed in destructing part of my property. Perhaps there is someone you know in AA who could give you a hand on Saturday to fix it. Otherwise, I agree with Annette–cosmetically put it back together and leave it alone until you can get it fixed. I’m sorry that this has turned into a hassle.

  3. atomicmomma says:

    Well I would be in the same place you are – frustrated but having a hard time beating up my neighbor about it. I don’t know if you have ever heard of Roger Hargreaves but he writes these great children’s books about the idosyncrasies of people and he has exactly one you should read and it’s called Little Miss Helpful. She means to help but she ends up making a bigger mess. And I’ve been Little Miss Helpful at times.

  4. kelly h. says:

    Good intentions don’t always have good results.

Leave a Reply

