Finding some joy

IMG_6271As I was browsing my photos to find one to post this morning, I came across a series of toddler selfies my youngest granddaughter took last year.  They are so fun, and of course, make me painfully aware that those children now live over 900 miles away.  I talked with my son last night and we are starting to plan my trip to see them in July.  How very very exciting.

I asked my sober daughter if she would like to join me, and she said yes.  I have no idea where I am getting the money for this, but I will keep plugging along with this dismal budget and save some money for the trip.  We will stay in Yellowstone the first night!  I have never been there.  I also hope to get to Grand Teton and Glacier National Parks.  (If you are over 62 years old, you can purchase a $10. lifetime pass to the parks.)

Yesterday I went shopping for a cat carrier.  I was amazed to see a lone package, all torn up, attached to a bag unzipped and all askew.  The original price was $65, and I got it for $15.  Really, in that moment  I thanked God.  Some people get irritated with me when I credit God for these things, but I believe God provides when you are doing what you are supposed to be doing.

And then I did more shopping.  Realizing later that this crazy cat carrier has a zebra pattern, which is fine.  But my blouse also had a zebra pattern, so I must have looked like some crazy cat lady who wears clothes to match her kitty’s carrier.  Cool.  I’ll wave that freak flag proudly!

Today I have another meeting with problem employee.  I will try my level best to “wear the world like a loose garment.”  When I really looked at this, I could see that I really do want to “win” in this situation, and that attitude will never lead to a good resolution of a problem.  I will have a hard time getting over her getting in my face, pointing and yelling, but I can pretend I am over it.  I think that is my best bet right now.  Fake it.

And then I am off for FIVE DAYS in a row!  Wooooooo Hoooooooo!!!!

 

This entry was posted in Cat, Clothes, Faith, Family, Thrift. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finding some joy

  1. Annette says:

    I meant to tell you yesterday, but then I didn’t get around to actually commenting…..but I have my mom’s old vintage copy of the 24 hours a day book from her early years in AA back in the 60’s. I love that little book. Because it was her’s and it symbolizes her attempts at getting healthy and because of the wisdom it contains.
    Adorable pictures! And I agree most definitely that God provides what we need when we need it….even sometimes when we aren’t doing exactly as we should. Thats what His grace is all about. Even cat carriers and raised bed gardens at a bargain. Because you are His girl and He loves you.

  2. Kelly says:

    Woohoo! Enjoy your time off!!! What a blessing!! 🙂

  3. Syd says:

    Five days off is a great thing when you are working. I am glad to have most days free. Such freedom is something that I cherish.

Leave a Reply

