April One

IMG_7786I’ve decided to try to grow a vegetable garden this year.   The last time I tried this was in 1983, my last full year of drinking.  We lived in the mountains and it was a rough year, in oh, so many ways.  My little thriving garden froze on June 15.  I replanted.  It froze again on September 15.  My heart broke.

I’ve been researching and it seems raised beds is the easiest way to garden.  I bought a kit yesterday.  Went to Home Depot at lunch, fully prepared to buy the above kit at full price.  When I saw this package, all beat up and obviously taken apart and put back together, I grabbed it. I took it to the service desk and told them I would be glad to take it off their hands for a discount.  I got it for half price!  I had counted all the pieces, and I am pretty sure they are all there.

Last Friday, I held a meeting at work.  I bought a package of chocolate covered raisins to share.  I sat in the conference room for about 15 minutes, watching the time tick away without a soul bothering to show up to my meeting.  I ate the raisins with a vengeance.  At 2:15, I got up, left, and locked the conference room door, and thought to myself “something has got to change here.”  If everyone else takes days off when there are things on their schedule, I guess I can take some time off too.  I called my boss and told her I am taking Thursday, Friday, and Monday off.  I need some time off.  I will work on getting my beds ready (yes, I am going to buy another one).  I may go for a hike with a friend.  I am taking my daughters out for dinner on Friday night.  It will be good for me.

It’s been a bunch of big hairy deals at work.  For reals.  I can’t write about it, but take my word on it.  Yesterday I passed one major hurdle.  There will be more.  But what a relief it was to get that major one over with.

The thing that keeps coming up for me is that I have got to “wear the world like a loose garment.”  I just pulled my “Twenty-four hours a day” book from the shelf.  I went straight to July 16 and there I found:

We can believe that God is in His heaven and that He has a purpose for our lives, which will eventually work out as long as we try to live the way we believe he would want us to live.  It has been said that we should “wear the world like a loose garment.”  that means that nothing should seriously upset us because we have a deep, abiding faith that God will always take care of us.  To us that means not to be too upset by the surface wrongness of things, but to feel deeply secure in the fundamental goodness and purpose in the universe.

And let’s not forget the kitty!

IMG_7785

 

This entry was posted in Cat, Garden, Rest. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to April One

  1. Syd says:

    We do all raised bed gardening. I get the treated timbers and build them. Our garden will go in this weekend. We are late this year because of the weather. Hopefully, not too late. Good luck with the garden. Pots are another great way to garden too. They can be attractive and hold a lot for intensive gardening.

  2. Birdie says:

    This year we are doing raised beds in addition to our regular beds. Or should I rather say my husband is. We bought this house together 3 years ago and I had been living in a condo and he is a house. I knew/know nothing about gardening and so far have killed everything I have tried. But i will persevere!

    I have a cat that looks a lot like yours. He is evil and is trying to overthrow me.

  3. Mary LA says:

    So looking forward to this — please take care not to strain your back bending for long periods. I have pots and raised beds in old fruit pallets lined and filled with good soil. I grow herbs and small bushes of cherry tomatoes, Swiss chard and bell peppers. That gives me the best return but our summers are long and very hot.

Leave a Reply

