More PTSD

IMG_7733

I have not written about this, and probably that was the wiser path.  However, I am now having nightmares and dread at the thought of walking into my office each day.  You see, I have a problem employee.  Her last outburst has left me very angry and a bit traumatized.

She is on vacation for a few days now.  She will be back tomorrow.  Yesterday I sat at her desk for a minute and noticed a cartoon taped to the wall, I took a photo, it is above.  Who would post something like that?

I work within a huge system where you can’t just fire people.  You have to document, document, document.  I have been doing so since November.   At a meeting last week, two people complained to me about her.  I had to confront her about these complaints, and she started crying and then stood up and yelled and pointed at me and said “YOU NEED TO TELL ME WHO SAID THIS!!!!”  etc., etc., etc.  Not one second did she take to consider what they said and try to see how two different people would come up with the same complaint.  She blamed me and the mystery (to her) people who complained.  She went out into the department and continued her tearful rage.   Then she left for vacation.  Thank God.

I had nightmares about her over the weekend.  I hate to think she is getting to me like this.  But it is the truth.  I don’t like being yelled at.  I don’t like being threatened.

But here is my truth:   I am her boss.  I have the support of my boss and all the way up the chain of command.  I have communicated with them through every step in this problem.  I am three or four years from retirement.  I am not trying to further my career.  I am in the job I want to keep until I leave.   And the other truth is:  she is overly confident.  Her work is of poor quality.  She makes snap decisions that are frequently wrong.  She cannot be convinced that right actions are more valuable than fast actions.  I will continue to document, document, document.  And someday she will no longer be a problem to me.

Writing this I realize that I need to have a meeting with my boss and her.  My boss is an absolutely no-nonsense kind of guy.  He is not at all impressed by girls crying.  And he is definitely not going to tolerate someone standing up, yelling and pointing at him, every sentence starting with “YOU NEED TO…..”  And perhaps THEN she will realize that she is in deep s**t, and needs to either shape up or leave.

I don’t need to prove anything to her or anyone else either.  I am a human being with limitations.   Being traumatized by an employee is not something I am likely to tolerate for long.

Thanks for listening (reading) if you have.  I will likely delete this after a day or so.  It is not smart to post this, but I sure feel better having done so.

Oh! And here’s another picture of my cat.  Sitting on the arm of my chair while I knit!

IMG_7737

This entry was posted in Cat, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to More PTSD

  1. Mary LA says:

    Love that cat! You are in my prayers —

  2. jackie says:

    Love your kitty! Hate your circumstance with “her”. But overall, isn’t life good?

  3. Annette says:

    Oh your cat is a beauty. I am glad you are going to have a meeting with your boss and the girl. And I hope you documented her response to your talk with her. Good Lord. I am shocked at people’s behavior…..remember my situation? Sheesh. I will email you, but there were several people’s behavior who I was surprised at. We are all sick in one way or another and I forget that. It gives me compassion when I am feeling anger and frustration.

  4. Lisa says:

    I have little patience with adults who throw ‘fits’. Professional adult behavior is not so much to ask from a person who is being PAID to be a professional. I hope she can get her act together.

    Niya is beautiful and even from photos it appears that she is so very happy!

  5. daisyanon says:

    Niya is really coming on well! Congratulations. Interesting how you felt better after blogging about this work situation. I find I keep wanting to tell ‘the internet’ things and wonder why a private diary doesn’t seem to provide the same sense of satisfaction and closure.

  6. Syd says:

    Like the cat a lot. I think that it’s good to have a third party present when having a talk with an employee. I had an employee who murdered someone and then got in a shoot out with a deputy. He was and likely still is insane. I was glad to have let him go, prior to the murder. It’s tough being a supervisor of people who have all manner of things going on in their lives that we don’t have a clue about. I am compassionate but there are definitely limits to even that.

  7. Kelly says:

    I love your new cat. I also think you are on to something- meeting with her and your boss. You’re right- maybe she will sense the true depth of what is going on. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

