A Shelter Cat

IMG_7659Yesterday afternoon, I decided to look for cats on the Dumb Friends League website.  Of course, I was looking at cute young kitties.  But then I saw a link for the “lonely hearts club,” and found a sweet cat who is 8 years old and not very friendly.  She had been at the shelter for a long time and someone had adopted her and returned her because she hid the entire time she lived at that home.  I spent some time with the kitty and really fell in love.  She really warmed up to me too, probably because I let her set the tone.

The people at the shelter were so happy to see her find a home.  The woman who helped me said that it seemed to be a perfect match.

IMG_7662I paid the small adoption fee, got all her records, and loaded her into a little carrier and drove her home.

IMG_7695

 

She hid only for a minute, then came out and explored the entire house.  Rubbed her back on every single door-way, rolled on the rug, checked out every bed, and looked at the table tops and kitchen counters.  She is big!  She came when I called.  She sat with me and purred.  She slept on my bed last night!  She sat with me while I prayed this morning.

And then…..

When I was making the bed this morning, I stepped on her a little.  Really only a little, because I immediately felt her and didn’t step down.  But I freaked her the heck out.  I have not seen her since 9 a.m.  It is now 1:30 p.m.  I am so sad.  I hope she comes out to see me again soon.

I thought she was adapting so well!  I am sure we will have a great time, eventually.

So excited to have a cat in the house again.  I have always had cats.  It’s been 10 years since the last one got attacked by a pit bull in my own yard. I swore I would never have a pet again after that.  But after having various dogs in the house and learning to love them, I am ready to have a critter to love here.  So happy she is here…. if only she will learn to trust me again.

Her name is Niya.

 

This entry was posted in Cat. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Shelter Cat

  1. daisyanon says:

    I’m sure she will come round if you leave out food and water and let her do it in her own time. Keep us posted!

  2. Adorable! I hope she comes out to greet you again soon.

  3. She came out just after I wrote this yesterday. She is awesome. I am so glad she is here with me, and I think she is too!

  4. Lisa says:

    She is beautiful! I am so glad that she is happy with you, and you with her.

  5. Syd says:

    So nice that you have her. She reminds me of our Rachael who is a tabby domestic shorthair. Cats are good company.

Leave a Reply

