St. Patrick’s Day

IMG_6011Happy St. Patrick’s Day to everyone.  It is Mary in Africa’s sobriety birthday – 7 years!  It is former blogger Dave’s natal birthday – happy birthday Dave.

Rightly or wrongly, I don’t put a lot of religious significance on the date.  I look at St. Patrick’s story with some skepticism.  It seems kinda mythical. I may be wrong, there is always that possibility (however remote, ha ha).

The dinner and dance on Saturday night was wonderful.  So many of my AA pals in one place.  Some I hadn’t seen in years.  So many showed up!  So many stuffed $20. bills into coffee cans.  Donated stuff for the silent auction.  Bid huge sums of money on the silent auction items.  A little country band donated their services for the evening.  It was just lovely, they had a violin, a banjo, a big thing – sorry – bass?  I have no idea.  It was sweet, and not very loud.  Couples got up and danced.  I almost asked a man to dance.  He kept coming around me, I think he wanted to ask me to dance, but we were both too shy.  Funny how you can go from brazen hussy to shy wallflower if given enough time.  That’s God’s work, not mine, and I thank him for it.

And now I get to don my green shawl and go to work!  YAY!

 

 

This entry was posted in Clothes, Friends, Gratitude, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to St. Patrick’s Day

  1. Syd says:

    Happy St. Pat’s day to you too! I don’t celebrate it, but a lot of people are hung over this morning and will have another hangover tomorrow.

  2. Mary LA says:

    Loving the shy wallflower in the green shawl! Thanks for the mention, Mary Christine

Leave a Reply

