Ash Wednesday

IMG_1915

Going to Mass this morning on my way to work.  I’ll spend the day with ashes on my forehead.  Which will cause at least a few embarrassing moments.  Someone will give a subtle sign that I have dirt on my forehead.  I’ll nod and say it’s Ash Wednesday.  Back in the day that was OK.  Now it causes untold misery for the person who was so Culturally Insensitive as to not know every minor detail of every major religion.  That’s so sad.

I still don’t know what I am doing to observe Lent.  I do know, however, that I am not doing anything that will drive me crazy.  Maybe this year I will opt for the Rosary again.  It takes 20 minutes.  I have an app on my phone so that when I have to, I can say the pray the Rosary while driving.  I believe the Rosary is a powerful, powerful thing.  Yes, the beads, as well as the prayer and meditation.

OK, I just made up my mind.  And I just posted a photo of the Rosary I purchased a few years ago, which I will be using a lot.

I’m ready for 47 days of Lent.  Let’s see where I shall be on the other side of it.

This entry was posted in Faith, Mass, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ash Wednesday

  1. Syd says:

    It sounds good to not do anything to drive yourself crazy. Hope that you enjoy your day. Rainy and chilly here. I imagine that you do get comments on the ashes on the forehead.

    • Only one person yesterday! And I almost laughed because it went exactly as I described. Her face turned bright red and she was so horrified that she had not known. I wish people were allowed to not know things!

  2. Kelly says:

    Saying the rosary sounds like a good idea for Lent. What is the app called?

Leave a Reply

