Aging, Headaches, Monday

IMG_7598Me and eldest brother, sometime in the 50s.  I think the time stamp says 1958, but I know that my family was so dysfunctional at that time that photos would sit undeveloped for years.

I haven’t felt well all weekend and this morning I feel downright sick.  Thank God I worked on Saturday so that the pressure is off me this morning.  I still have to go to work.  I will see what is on my schedule tomorrow, maybe there is a sick day in my future?

Yesterday I rented Nebraska because I had wanted to see it all winter long and never did get to it.  It had a nice twist at the end, but I found the movie dismal and depressing.  I hope to God there are no people actually like that, people with no relationships and no kindness in their lives.

I watched the Oscars last night for a while.  I am haunted by the vision of Kim Novak.  She was confused, her face is a horrifying plastic nightmare, rather muppet-like.  She was “all that” at about the time that photo of me and my brother was taken.  Time is cruel.   But Matthew McConaughey was so kind.  I always thought he was attractive, and I was thrilled he got best actor for Dallas Buyers Club – but now I love him for being so kind to her.

Please dear Lord, as I age, please give me the grace to be more like June Squibb and less like Kim Novak.

Weird prayers for a Monday.  Maybe He knows why things so distant from me effect me so profoundly.

 

This entry was posted in Aging, Health, History, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aging, Headaches, Monday

  1. Syd says:

    I don’t imagine that you would be one to go get all the plastic surgery done that she has had. It looks terrible–not even like a real person. Matthew McConaughey was kind at what must have been really awkward for him. He seems to be a good fellow. Hope your Monday goes well.

Leave a Reply

