My Friend’s Birthday

Today is my friend’s birthday.  She usually has some kind of great party, but not this year.  Her father died in November, and she says she just needs to do everything different this year.  She and her mother are going to the mountains to stay at a luxurious resort for a few days.  I hope that will be good for her.  She is one of those who feel their birthday is a national holiday.  I used to be that way, but reality was too big of an obstacle in my case.  I will take her out for lunch in the next couple of weeks – oh, and give her the slippers I knit her – she will be so excited – she loved the ones I knit for my sister.  I could say she coveted them.  Now she will have her own pair.

I’m going back to work this morning.  I’m feeling so tired.  I had a very low-key weekend, thinking I would get my batteries charged, but it didn’t work.  I would think I was slinking back into depression, but I know I am not.  I can tell because of the excitement I have for my new knitting project.  I wake up looking forward to knitting and to the next clue that will come in my e-mail.  Well, that and the fact that my life is not falling apart at the seams.  Thank you God.

I got my nails done yesterday:

bronco nailsI’m pretty excited about the Broncos going to the Super Bowl – and I am not the only one!  This is when it would have been fun to work downtown. But I will stay just where I am, thank you very much.

 

This entry was posted in Friends, Gratitude. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Friend’s Birthday

  1. Annette says:

    Mary, you are so funny!

  2. Mj Kelly says:

    I’m sorry the Pats lost coming from Boston but I’ll root for the Broncos in the Super Bowl ! Love the nails ..(:

  3. Kelly says:

    I’m glad you can say you’re not slipping back into depression. I’ve hit a bump, it seems, and I was wondering if this is another bout of depression. I can’t say for sure either way, but I hope not.

  4. Syd says:

    Glad that you are excited and not depressed. Well, your nails look good and funky.

Leave a Reply

