The year in review

IMG_6411I tried to find my favorite photo of the year, but didn’t really find one.  I like this rose, I have no idea what magic I used to create the effect of seeing the velvet of the petals – but I like it.

My goals for 2013 were mixed, some were met, some were not.  But what transpired was beyond my wildest dreams.

The first 4 months of the year were terrifying.  I had never been so depressed.  I didn’t have adequate health care.  My psychiatrist left and no one knew me when I needed someone who knew me.  I was a mess, and had to deal with being treated like a “patient,” since I was devoid of wit, charm, and was suffering from cognitive deficits from depression.  I later reviewed my record, and as I thought, they wrote terrible things about me.  It was horrifying.

As it was, it turned out as it should have.  I suffered.  I turned to God like never before.  There was no where else to turn.  I meditated.  My whole world view changed.

I found a new psychiatrist who listened to me.  He vowed his support of me.  That meant everything to me.  And now I am about to lose him 😦

And in April, just when I decided to give up and retire, I was offered a chance to go back to the hospital I worked for so long.  It was like a miracle.  Maybe it was a miracle.  In July I was back as the occupant in the office where I first interviewed 19+ years ago – desperate for a job as an Administrative Assistant.  Now I am the Director in the same department.

I have a new grandson.  He is beautiful.  They will be moving to Montana, but I can go visit.

I need to do some different things in 2014.  I will sit down and write that all down tomorrow.  I am excited for a new year.

But after what I lived through last year, I am pretty sure that no matter what happens, I will be OK.  God is always right here.

 

This entry was posted in Depression, Faith, History, Roses, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The year in review

  1. Syd says:

    I have hope for 2014, but few expectations. It was not a great year for me in 2013 but I did come through to the other side. And any year where I make it to one more is good.

  2. Mary LA says:

    Beautiful velvety rose! I hope this will be a wonderful 2014 for all of us

  3. Kelly says:

    I think it was a miracle- you getting your old job back. And finding that psychiatrist when you so desperately needed him, too (I’m sorry you’re about to lose him, though- why?).

  4. Annette says:

    You have had quite a year Mary! The depression you speak of makes me feel so awful for you. To think you were suffering so much and I didn’t understand the depth of it at that time. I am so glad that you were able to find your way out of that place of darkness. And I am so grateful that you are hear sharing your life with us each day.

Leave a Reply

